The Pillar New Testament Commentary Series
Get the FeedGet RSS Feed


pill-matt Published by Eerdmans
Series Editor: D. A. Carson

Like any other commentary series, The Pillar New Testament Commentary has specific aims. Designed both for serious students and for general readers of the Bible, the PNTC volumes seek above all to make clear the meaning of the text of Scripture as we have it. The scholars writing these volumes interact with the most important, informed contemporary debate yet avoid undue technical detail. Their ideal is a blend of rigorous exegesis and exposition, scholarship and pastoral sensitivity, with an eye alert both to biblical theology and to the contemporary relevance of the Bible.

While the New International Version is the translation of choice for the English text, Pillar authors base their exposition on the Greek New Testament. They are deeply committed to a fresh wrestling with the text, using every means at their disposal to “loosen the Bible from its pages” to help readers understand what the text says and how to apply it to life today.

Underlying the approach of this series is the fact that God stands over against us rather than we in judgment of him. When God speaks to us in his Word, those who profess to know him must respond with reverence, a certain fear, a holy joy, and a questing obedience. These attitudes are reflected in the profoundly Christian stance of the PNTC authors toward the text. With these values in place, the Pillar commentaries will continue to be warmly welcomed by pastors, teachers, and students everywhere.

Individual volumes: Matthew, Mark, Luke, John, Acts, Romans, 1-2 Corinthians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1-2 Thessalonians, Philemon, Hebrews, James, Letters of John, 2 Peter & Jude.

  • Feb. 2012 update added Acts, 1 Corinthians, Philippians, Colossians & Philemon, and Hebrews.
  • May 2016 update added Luke, 2 Corinthians, and an updated volume on Romans by Colin Kruse.

Current 16 Volumes:

  • The Gospel According to Matthew - Leon Morris (1992)
  • The Gospel According to Mark - James R. Edwards (2002)
  • The Gospel According to Luke - James R. Edwards (2015)
  • The Gospel According to John - D. A. Carson (1991)
  • The Acts of the Apostles - David Peterson (2009)
  • Paul’s Letter to the Romans - Colin Kruse (2012)
  • The First Letter to the Corinthians - Roy E. Ciampa, Brian S. Rosner (2010)
  • The Second Letter to the Corinthians - Mark A. Seifrid (2014)
  • The Letter to the Ephesians - Peter T. O’Brien (1999)
  • The Letter to the Philippians - G. Walter Hansen (2009)
  • The Letters to the Colossians and to Philemon - Douglas J. Moo (2008)
  • The Letters to the Thessalonians - Gene L. Green (2002)
  • The Letter to the Hebrews - Peter T. O’Brien (2009)
  • The Letter of James - Douglas J. Moo (2000)
  • The Letters of 2 Peter and Jude - Peter H. Davids (2006)
  • The Letters of John - Colin G. Kruse (2000)

Purchase any individual volume or the complete set.


Article updated May 9, 2016 to included newly released volumes.

| Bookmark and Share