Headaches from laptop screens or monitors

Julia Falling

Hey — Has anyone experienced headaches with one of Apple's higher resolution monitors or laptop screens? I got a new 13" MBA in July and began having a non-stop headache a week later. It's now gone one for nearly 3 months. It may not have anything to do with my screen, but I thought I'd ask. Just trying to eliminate contributing factors before I resort to amputation. I hate migraines!

Julie,

Sorry to hear about the headaches! I have not had that exact problem, but I wonder if you have had your eyesight checked lately? The reason I ask was when my eyesight started going bad (and each time it gets worse) I got pretty bad headaches. And computer screens seemed to really exacerbate the problem. Even though the monitors are higher rez, smaller fonts may cause eye strain. Just a thought.

Hope you get relief soon.

In Christ,

Bret Hicks

Thanks, Bret. My eyesight is worse every time I go to the doctor, too. I've got an astigmatism and I'm farsighted. I had my eyes checked about a month ago. My doctor said I might want to consider cataract surgery earlier rather than later because just changing my Rx would probably not help. My cataracts aren't very far advanced, but in combination with the astigmatism, fuzziness may have hit critical mass. I did up my font size with the new laptop, but that may not be enough at this point. Thank you so much for posting — you've been helpful. I think I'll call my doctor tomorrow and get some advice.

Julie,

You may be like me.

I too get headaches, migraines if I am too long at the screen. I think, its the focusing distance, if I am even a bit out of my focusing zone it brings on eye strain. Yes have started wearing reading glasses but even with readers I find if I vary my focal distance too much then get headaches.