Considering the move to Accordance

Sean R.

I'm a young pastor just beginning full-time ministry. I want to begin building a library of Bible study resources that will serve me for the rest of my ministry

Jean,

I heard this story in a sermon and thought it might put some perspective on your concerns.

Two men were talking. One said to the other, ‘The world is going to be destroyed in 20 billions years.’ The other man started to get very anxious and wanted to get clear on what the first man said and impatiently asked him, ‘What did you say?’ The first man said, ‘I said the world is going to be destroyed in 20 billion years.’ The other man was relieved and said, ‘Whew, you had me worried, I thought you said, 20 million years.’

Peace

Jim P

Sean,

Since technology changes so quickly and Accordance's fate depends on the survival of other companies, it's not easy to promise that Accordance will still be around in the distant future. Will Apple or Microsoft be around in 30, 40, or 50 years? Will we still be using computers as we know them today? Your guess is as good as mine.

That said, I understand the thrust of your question and will do my best to answer it. Accordance is indeed a privately owned (and family owned) corporation, but I believe that can also be said of most other Bible software companies. Do we have a succession plan in place? Yes we do. If we lost our lead programmer, do we have other programmers who would be able to maintain and further develop the software? Yes we do.

Ultimately, there are no guarantees that Accordance will be around forever, but we have made every effort to be prepared for the future. I think that's all anyone can promise.

Hope this helps.