Upgrade GNT28-T to NA28-T or USB4-T???

Nicholous Rogers

I'm using Bill Mounce's "Basics of Biblical Greek Grammar" which in turn uses the GNT28-T. I see that I can upgrade to the NA28-T or USB4-T. Would there be any advantage for me to take either upgrade path at a time when I'm just getting into the basics of Greek grammar? If so, which path should I take?

• Like 1

The question is whether you want to be able to access the textual apparatus, to see the manuscript variants. It's a really fascinating and important field, but if you're just getting started with Greek, I'd suggest you just add them to your Wishlist for now and come back to them a bit later.

• Like 1

As a general guideline, USB apparatus is more designed for translators and pastors (who translate the text while preparing a sermon) in a way that it gives only those readings that are relevant to translation plus their "weight", and more detailed comments on those readings.

NA28 one is more comprehensive (contains more readings), but rather for scholars (whatever that means)

:)

Edited by rokas
  • Like 1

I'm using Bill Mounce's "Basics of Biblical Greek Grammar" which in turn uses the GNT28-T. I see that I can upgrade to the NA28-T or USB4-T. Would there be any advantage for me to take either upgrade path at a time when I'm just getting into the basics of Greek grammar? If so, which path should I take?

Hi Nicholous, as an idea, at my local seminary, they do a full year of Greek - 6 hours a week - before they are introduced to the apparatus. If I was you, unless there was a kill-em-for-it special on, I would wait for the apparatus until a) I was more confident in greek, and B) I could find some training course to help me understand the significance of all the itty bitty numbers...