Looking for suggestions to get back into Greek

Alex H.

My Greek is very rusty (VERY - I can read but don't understand very much). I'd like to get back into it and was wondering if there are any suggestions for resources and methodology. On accordance I have the GNT (NA 26 I think), NIDNTE and a couple of dictionaries. I also have an iPad mini which I'd like to utilise if practical (I like to get up out of my seat when I read) but that's not essential.

I learned with Wenham when I studied 15 years ago (and went beyond first year Greek, did some Greek options in exegetical units) in Seminary and have tried picking it up once or twice since, but don't really find it to helpful now. I have seen the podcast on using Acc for vocab, but also need to renew my acquaintance with TVM and all that good stuff. I do have some Accordance store credit and this seems like a worthy candidate if there's a resource that the Accordance community considers useful for this purpose. (I'm considering Mounce, but don't want to pull the trigger without guidance.)

Thanks in advance.

I took a high pass in Koine Greek at the doctoral level, but my vocabulary and comprehension has slowly declined in the years since then. Teaching (unless one is teaching the language) and podcasting for Accordance require very little knowledge of Greek.

I asked a good friend and gifted linguist, James Tucker (one of our Accordance text developers), about the best way to regain my skill. He recommended I read, read, and read in Greek. his technique is to read entire sentences silently, then aloud, then translate the gist without looking at the text, then check the translation against a scholarly one. Furthermore, he told me to avoid the NT for now, instead beginning with the Didache, then 1 Clement. [He feels the Greek in the NT is weak, especially for those trying to [re]learn the language].