Looking for a Word Study method

Paul Daunno

I am interested in studying words and have limited experience doing so. Right now I am particularly interested in studying the word "grace". I'm sort of a step-by-step method kinda guy but haven't come up with one on my own that I really like. My goal would be to get a good understanding of the word "grace" and perhaps later drill down deeper. I'm planning to use the NIV11-GK for my text and the Mounce Greek Dictionary and Kohlenberger/Mounce Hebrew Dictionary as my starting points for the original languages. I have very little knowledge of those languages but manage to find my way around somewhat via the keyed texts I have.

If anyone has a good method for doing this type of study I'd really like to see it.

Dr. J, if you read this I think it would be an excellent topic for a podcast :):):)

Paul,

Since you do not know the original languages, I would recommend you use the following method and tools:

Set your text to NIV11-GK

Click the magnifying glass icon to make sure you are set for a flex search

Search for ‘grace’

Click the analysis button and select to see the analysis window. This window will list all of the Greek and Hebrew words which are translated with various forms of grace.

You should then do a search for each of the Hebrew and Greek words which are translated with some form of grace. I would recommend starting with the more important words such as G5921 (charis) and H02858 (chanan).

To search on a keyword, do a command such as

grace@[KEY G5921]

This will list all 119 occurrences of this root that were translated in the NIV11 as some form of ‘grace.’ You should study these to see how the word is used and to determine its range of meanings.

You can do this for each major Greek and Hebrew root for grace.

You should also look up these root words in the best lexicon/dictionary you have.