Daily Bible Readings

jwarthman

I'm a new Accordance user, and still trying to get my bearings with this excellent software.

I'm also new to Bible study, and I wish to use Accordance to, essentially, read through the entire Old and New Testaments, with some study of notes and commentaries as I go. From time to time, I expect to dwell in areas of special interest, and read more material to help my study.

The Daily Bible Readings module seems useful. I'd like to hear from those who favor either the Devotional Arrangement or the Chronological Arrangement. What are the advantages of each?

I think it would be better to start reading with January 1, even though I'm starting in mid-year. Or is there some reason I should start "in the middle"? Related to this, does Accordance offer any simple tool to either re-label the readings to correspond to when I'm actually reading them, or to quickly mark them as I read them, so I can quickly identify the next day's passages?

Last but not least, has anyone found (or constructed) a tool that would use the Catholic Daily Missal as an alternative index to the Daily Bible Readings?

Thanks in advance for any insight you can provide.

Enjoy!

-- Jim

• 4 weeks later...

Hi Jim:

I found something that might help you. Personally, I have been reading the "Daily Lectionary" that is from the Book of Common Worship (PCUSA). It seems to be based on the Anglican daily reading model with a few changes.

The great thing about this is that the daily reading chunks are manageable for me-- in a three year cycle you read almost the entire Bible once; Psalms and the Gospels two-three times and the NT almost twice.

As of last month, PCUSA put up PDF files with the references for each day for the next 6 months.

http://www.pcusa.org/devotions/lectionary/lectionarylist.htm

I just copy the references into the Accordance search window and I'm set. In addition, I'm starting to put them into a User Tool and create the generic 3-year cycle.