Ross Hebrew Programme

KevinSoars

I am interested in the Accordance Ross Hebrew Programme and would be delighted to hear about it from anyone who has used it. I have just finished using "The First Hebrew Primer" by Simon, Resnikoff & Motzkin (which I found to be a real treasure - the essentials of the grammar without being overwhelmed with vocabulary) and wonder if Ross would be a step upwards or would I be better going for the Accordance versions of Gesenius or Waltke/O'Connor (which I hope to purchase later anyway). I would like a step upwards from "The First Hebrew Primer" but, at the same time, something that is going to help me later on as my Hebrew hopefully improves. (By the way, for anyone like myself who is an absolute beginner in Hebrew, and does not have a teacher, I cannot recommend too highly "The First Hebrew Primer" as their first textbook.)

Looking forward to hearing from someone,

Kevin (Soars)

I cannot comment on the others but I have a print copy of the Gesenius (GKC) and it is not a paedgogical grammar. It is a reference grammar, and I therefore believe it will be of zero help to you.

For studying and actually learning Hebrew I am familiar with Weingreen, Lambdin, and Davidson. Weingreen and Davidson could be considered "dated". Lambdin is a relative newcomer, but well-established. The coursebook I used at university was a spiral-bound booklet published by the Univeristy of Sheffield, but I do not remember the name of the author. (Temporary mental block

Secondly, get a teacher.

Of course you can study and learn Hebrew on your own, but in my experience the difficulties, problems and challenges associated with learning the biblical languages in solitary confinement quickly lead to frustration and disappointment.