Diagramming

MrT

Hi all

I'm a student at Moore Theological College in Sydney, and I'm fairly new to accordance.

There is something all students regularly do in class, which I'm wondering whether this is possible to do all within Accordance. We are taught to do what we call syntax diagrams in class. Basically, this is just the Greek text, one line per clause, indented to show the syntactic and logical relationships between clauses.

The current work flow for myself and all the other students is to copy the Greek text (either from accordance or elsewhere), paste it into MS Word or Pages, and then construct the diagram in there.

I have attached an example of one such diagram (it's not perfect, but you get the idea). After we construct the diagram, we then often double underline finite verbs, single underline other verb forms, bracket prepositional phrases, parse the verbs, and then scribble notes all over it (which is really easy to do in Adobe Acrobat if you turn the diagram into a PDF).

Ideally I'd like to be able to do all this in Accordance, in some kind of text editor, retaining the ability to get instant morphological details on the words, and also being able to easily highlight finite verbs and other word forms as necessary. I could then save all the diagrams in Accordance, and have them available for future reference.

Is this something that can be done within accordance? This would be an amazingly powerful feature within Accordance, and would no doubt be used by all students and staff here.

Thanks

Matt

1 Cor 1 4-9.pdf

Matt--good news. Diagramming is built into Accordance!

If you don't have the diagramming button on your toolbar, right click on the toolbar, choose "Customize Toolbar" and add the diagramming button wherever you like.