Anchor Dictionary - to buy or not to Buy

fmcfee

Hi,

I am a conservative person.... but I am studying the points raised by scholars like Bart Ehrhman, he cites: Raymond Brown among others...my question is would "the Anchor dictionary" help me understand the "historicity" issues ....concerning manuscripts like the Nag Hammadi, etc compared to the Bible ....

OR.....Would I be better off to buy hard copies of specific references..commentaries,etc (I have searched and Accordance does not offer any of the documents referenced)....

So what I am asking is for someone is familiar with "Anchor Bible Dictionary" to help me decide....I appreciate any feedback positive or negative...

I know this is a some what subjective question...

Thanks for your help!

Frank

Hi Frank.

that's a tough question because it's all about relative worth and usefulness.

On a personal note, I bought AYBD many years ago now in Accordance and have not once regretted the purchase. While, like you, I am quite conservative theologically I find the alternative viewpoint stimulating and challenging. AYBD gives a great summary of where things were at twenty-five years ago. Despite it's increasing age, it is still a wonderful resource.

However, as with any Bible dictionary, it is really just the jumping off point for serious study, so you will probably find yourself using AYBD as an informed bibliography (a very well informed one mind you) in order to hit the library for the particular discussions.

I think it's a great resource. I use it regularly, but you need to weigh your intended particular usage of any such module.

Hi Frank.

that's a tough question because it's all about relative worth and usefulness.