Philo or Philippians???

davesalyer

BDAG version 1.3

When doing a scripture search in BDAG for any verse in Philippians chapter 4 (all other chapters have been working fine) it also pulls up all references to Philo. Also, when I scroll over those Philo references, the instant details box brings up Philippians 4:1 every time instead of info on Philo. I didn't see any topics about this on the forums and I checked for updates, etc. Could be a bug but I am not that tech savvy so I posted it here. Sounds like Philo got linked to Phil 4:1 somehow. Please advise.

There do seem to be a few spurious hyperlinks here, we will correct them for the next rev.

Is there any kind of workaround I could use until the revision comes out - some way to eliminate Philo from the results or something?

Is there any kind of workaround I could use until the revision comes out - some way to eliminate Philo from the results or something?

You might look at the results difference if you add a second search field under "More options"

Search within every paragraph

NOT English Content philo

That will ignore all hits where Philo is mentioned in the paragraph. This could conceivably remove actual references to Philipians 4, and will certainly still leave some references to Philo.

Unfortunately Philo is always abbreviated as "Phil" so I think that would cut out all references to "Phil"ippians as well. Oh well, I am just glad it is only this chapter that has the problem. I have used this feature so much in translating the book for class that I have become dependent on it! Thanks for the suggestion.

Unfortunately Philo is always abbreviated as "Phil" so I think that would cut out all references to "Phil"ippians as well. Oh well, I am just glad it is only this chapter that has the problem. I have used this feature so much in translating the book for class that I have become dependent on it! Thanks for the suggestion.