Errors in CNTTS

Mark Dubis

I am just beginning to use the CNTTS in earnest and have found some significant errors in it. Yesterday I was working on 1 Peter 1:15-16 and encountered the following:

(1) The CNTTS gives incomplete and therefore misleading information re: the Aland categories in the Instant Details window. For example, if one compares the CNTTS data to the Aland descriptions in their _Text of the New Testament_, one finds that the CNTTS (a) labels 1 (f1) as category III, but fails to mention that it is category V outside of the Gospels (such as 1 Peter), (B) labels 69 (f13) as category III, but fails to mention that it is category V outside of Paul (such as 1 Peter), © labels P025 as category V in Acts and Revelation and as category III in Paul, but fails to mention that it is category III in the Catholics (such as 1 Peter). All of these problems dramatically impact my ability to use the CNTTS categorizations in my 1 Peter research since these omissions are all directly related to the Catholics.

(2) The CNTTS contradicts itself. In 1 Peter 1:16-2, it lists the hoti after gegraptai as being both included and omitted by Sinaiticus.

(3) The CNTTS omits data included in the NA27 apparatus. The CNTTS makes no mention of papyrus 72 which supports the omission of the hoti after gegraptai as well as other textual variants in this verse.

(4) The CNTTS contradicts info in the NA27 apparatus. For example, the CNTTS says that both C and P include the hoti after gegraptai, but the NA27 says that C and P omit this hoti.

Here is my question. Have others encountered these kind of problems elsewhere? In other words, is the CNTTS generally unreliable or did I just happen to hit upon a bad collation of the data? Obviously, the presentation of Aland categories are unreliable more broadly than just 1 Peter 1 (and this is a serious problem in and of itself), but what about the collations?

Mark: