Chinese Pinyin Bible

petermoore

I have just downloaded the Chinese Union Version Bible and it's great to have the same program on my computer and my iPhone. I have been working in China for the last 18 years so this is a very useful tool for me. However as a westerner who has learned Chinese as a second language I sometimes struggle with some of the characters and so having a Bible that has both Chinese characters with the romanised "Hanyu Pinyin" underneath would be a great help. Actually the Bible+ program for Palm had this and it was great - but not available for the iPhone. I think the text is available free of copyright, or it's possible to generate the Pinyin text from the Characters. I realise that there are probably not a lot of people who would want this, but I for one would love this tool.

• Like 1

• 1 year later...

I think there are quite a few people (well, many of my friends) who would love to have Pinyin. Would it be possible to add this to the available Chinese Bibles?

• Like 1

As we always ask in these situations

1. What is the copyright status and who holds it (if it is held)

2. Is there an etext available? and from where?

I know what our developers would ask, and I if we want to make a user Bible, I know what I would need to do that.

Ideal would be a tagged Chinese text (first the Chinese Union Version or Heheben), which would show the Chinese word, pinyin, Greek/Hebrew WITH a range of definition IN Chinese for the Hebrew/Greek word. I myself am almost finished with a public domain Chinese/Greek dictionary of the NT (based on the public domain Alexander Souter English/Greek dictionary), but I have no current plans for making a similar Chinese/Hebrew dictionary.

• Like 1