formatting & searching on HTML in My Tools

stjacks

Dear friends,

I am new to Accordance just this past week but I am completely overwhelmed by how powerful and wonderful Accordance is! I am trying to figure out how I made it all these years without it!!!

Anyway, I am very impressed by the import function under my tools. I am a graduate student and have a million random pdf articles and notes I would love to be able to search at one time with a click of a button. It seems that Accordance provides this option to me. However, I do have a couple of questions.

1. Is there a way to save my PDF's so that I don't lose key formatting features such as footnotes? Right now when I save the PDF as a html the footnotes just merge with the body of the text without any differentiation. This is a problem for me. If there is no other way to save, has anyone developed a work around for this or is Accordance thinking of correcting this shortcoming? I really need to be able to maintain some features of my pdf's for this feature of Accordance to truly prove useful for me.

2. When I search MY Tools for a word and the results come up in the workspace window, I am unable to click on the results and go directly to the html text. This feature does work when I search for the same word in my other tools such as in my bibles or the dictionaries. It just does not work when I search under My Tools. Is this a glitch in the system?

I really do look forward to more and more accordance modules. I am watching the podcasts daily and I am enjoying this forum very much. Thank you in advance for everyone out there who helps me answer these questions!

Welcome to Accordance!

I'll give answering your two questions a shot:

1. There currently is no way to maintain footnote formatting when importing a HTML file into Accordance as a User Tool. Accordance does, generally, maintain heading information, using it to create the headings in the new User Tool.