How do you use Accordance for sermons?

CWW

I'm fairly new to preaching.

In my beginner way, I simply use User Notes to record insights and ideas as I study each verse of the text for preaching, including copying from the various references I might want to use. I usually put the Outline in the notes of the first verse in the passage.

Finally, I copy the entire User Notes to a Word document for editing and crafting the final sermon.

Just wondering how do others use Accordance in the preparation of a sermon?

This question is partly triggered by the recent podcast on User Tools.

I'd looking forward to pick up tips and learn better ways of using Accordance from the wealth of experience here :)

Thanks

Wei

Wei,

This is a good question! Variations of it have been asked before; since I've answered in those threads, I won't repeat my answer there, but rather list some of the threads for you:

Best way to compile information while studying?

How to record your study?

How Do You Use Accordance for Sermon Prep?

Do you use the Edit Window or an alternative?

Hopefully others will chime in here a well.

Lorinda

Sorry to engage in self-promotion here, but I have an entire chapter of my book Macs in the Ministry devoted to how you can use Bible software in general, and Accordance in particular, to prepare a sermon. The accompanying DVD also includes a training video where I illustrate all the steps using Accordance.

The following chapter of the book then goes into developing a sermon outline in Pages, and that sermon outline then becomes the basis for a series of other projects.

Okay, end of commercial. We now return to your regularly scheduled Accordance discussion. ;)

Thanks Lorinda for the links! Very helpful. Tried searching the forums before posting the question but didn't find those threads. Much appreciated :)

Thanks too David for the book recommendation :P

• 3 weeks later...

Just wondering how do others use Accordance in the preparation of a sermon?