Need Help/Convincing Choosing Accordance Packages/Modules

Darin Allen

Hi Everyone,

So let me start by saying I am a new user, but have really been impressed by the community among Accordance users. My issue is, I am really struggling with which bible software to get. I have been leaning towards the Logos Scholar's Gold package for some time now due to the large number of quality resources and commentaries it comes with, especially the entire New International Greek Testament Commentary and others. However, I am a mac guy, and the more I read about Accordance the more I hear about its superior elegance and design over Logos. Is Logos really that bad/that cumbersome/that awkward? This makes me want to choose Accordance, but I am really hoping to get some solid commentaries along with my software and Logos seems to have the edge there, at least in their core packages. So here is my question, the Logos Scholar's Gold package will cost me $965, as I am a seminary student and get a discount. What would be the best use of comparable money with Accordance? Could I get additional packages, modules, etc. to make the initial collection more comparable to the Logos Gold? I am a seminary student studying to be a pastor, so I really wanted some good commentaries, but what else have you all found that has been your

Hi Darin,

One thing that I have found, and have heard confirmed again and again, that a great activity is to call OakTree and let the consultant talk through the best-bang-for-your-buck-and-interest with you. Everyone's interests are so specialized, and they have so many offerings that this would be beneficial.

I would encourage identifying what resources in each Accordance and Logos package "materially matter" so that an apples to apples comparison is possible. All packages, from both software companies, come with stuff you don't need, want or will ever use.