Jump to content


Photo

User notes errors and duplicates

user notes

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Lance

Lance

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cooma, NSW, Astralia
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 28 July 2013 - 05:43 AM

Help!!  I've just upgraded to the latest Accordance for mac, and discovered that DropBox sync is up and running on the mac as well as iOS. So I've set up automatic syncing on the mac. (I already had it running on the iPhone and iPad, and have unsubscribed and resubscribed to Dropbox on both just to make sure. It seems to be fine on both devices.)

 

I found I had a bunch of duplicate user note files, titled with the pattern "<original user note name> MyName's co" (which I assume means 'conflicted'?)

 

I'm now stuck in some kind of endless loop where I keep getting these three error messages in succession:

http://grab.by/oR4E , http://grab.by/oR4I , http://grab.by/oR4K

 

And if I try to either delete any of the user note files (in the Library panel) or merge them into another one (using the merge dialog), every file I've tried to delete or merge is recreated in a matter of seconds.

 

How can I get out of this?  Thanks.


Blessings!
Lance <º))><

MBP late-2011 (10.9), iPhone 4, iPad 2


#2 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 28 July 2013 - 09:22 AM

Hi Lance,

 

Sorry for your troubles!  It appears that Accordance is having trouble dealing with the management of the conflicted copies. I think the best thing to do is to remove the conflicted copies on the DropBox server.

 

When installing DropBox on the Mac, DropBox wil sync a local folder in your home folder (default location: ~/Dropbox). When you first linked Accordance, DropBox added an Accordance folder in it's Apps folder (Dropbox/Apps/Accordance). Inside this folder is a folder for each of the user content files that Accordance syncs (User Notes, User Tools, and Highlights).

 

To delete the conflicted copies you can navigate to this folder (in the Finder, logging into the DropBox website, the iOS DropBox app, etc.) and delete the files. The next time you sync Accordance on each platform then these files should be uninstalled.

 

Let us know if this works,

 

Mike 



#3 Scott Knapp

Scott Knapp

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 1,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 28 July 2013 - 10:02 AM

Of Mike's suggestions, I would recommend you do the conflicted copy deletion directly in your remote Dropbox at the Dropbox.com website and then sync your desktop and iOS apps. Scott

#4 Lance

Lance

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cooma, NSW, Astralia
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 28 July 2013 - 10:14 AM

Hi guys,

 

Thanks for the help. You were marginally too late Scott ;-) . But it seems to be OK having deleted them in Finder.

 

… except I'm still getting just this error message:

http://grab.by/oR4K


Blessings!
Lance <º))><

MBP late-2011 (10.9), iPhone 4, iPad 2


#5 Scott Knapp

Scott Knapp

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 1,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 28 July 2013 - 10:33 AM

My guess is that the forward slash in the filename is causing some issues.

#6 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 28 July 2013 - 10:47 AM

I agree with Scott. I created a new user note with the forward slash and Accordance is having trouble determining if this file is installed (so it tries to reinstall and gives the error you posted).

 

I renamed this file (on the DropBox server), synced with Accordance, and it appears to be working. (I changed the forward slash to a dash).

 

Thanks for pointing out this bug,

Mike



#7 Lance

Lance

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cooma, NSW, Astralia
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 28 July 2013 - 08:07 PM

Thanks, guys. That does indeed seem to have fixed it  :)

 

Might be worth commenting that when I renamed the file (on the Dropbox server, as suggested), Accordance responded by creating a duplicate user note. i.e. I finished up with two user notes in Accordance - one with the original name using a forward slash and one with the new name using a hyphen. On checking back in Dropbox - both on the server and locally in Finder - there was still only the one file with the new name. Deleting the unwanted user note in Accordance's Library panel seemed to do the trick with no further problems. Just thought I should report this behaviour.

 

I had no idea I was spotting a bug, but glad to have been of such service 


Blessings!
Lance <º))><

MBP late-2011 (10.9), iPhone 4, iPad 2






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: user notes

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users