Jump to content


Photo

AccUpdater not listing any modules


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Kerry Magruder

Kerry Magruder

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norman, Oklahoma, USA
  • Interests:History of science
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 31 August 2006 - 04:18 PM

Hi everyone,

My AccUpdater widget doesn't show any modules. An error message at the bottom says to contact tech support. It said that I should run Accordance before scanning, but I had run Accordance and even restarted before trying the AccUpdater widget. I deleted the widget, trashed the Accordance widget preference, and then reinstalled the widget. The regular Accordance widget works, and I have opened nearly every module that I have in Accordance since reinstalling. Still no luck with AccUpdater, and with the new modules out I want to use it! Any suggestions? Thanks,

PEACE
Kerry

#2 Joel Brown

Joel Brown

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • 2,474 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 31 August 2006 - 05:02 PM

Hi Kerry, sorry that things aren't working out for you. Could you answer some questions for me, so I can identify the problem?

1) Naviate to ~/Library/Preferences (thats your Home folder, then open Library, then Preferences) and tell me if 2 files are there: com.Oaktree.Accordance.path.txt and com.Oaktree.Accordance.Mod.txt
2) Also, what version of Mac OS and Accordance are you running?


I'm guessing the problem is that the latter file above (Mod.txt) doesn't exist, possibly due to you not having the latest version of Accordance. Let me know the answers to those questions so we can address the problem further.
Joel Brown

By day: Consultant for Oaktree
By night: Freelance Trombonist and Private Instructor

#3 Kerry Magruder

Kerry Magruder

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norman, Oklahoma, USA
  • Interests:History of science
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 31 August 2006 - 05:36 PM

Joel,

Thanks for the help!

com.OakTree.Accordance.Path.txt exists, but com.Oaktree.Accordance.Mod.txt does not exist. Hmm.

I have OS 10.4.7 and Accordance 7.0.3. (I reinstalled 7.0.3 today to try to see if that would make the AccUpdater work, but to no avail.)

PEACE
Kerry

#4 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 7,936 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 31 August 2006 - 05:40 PM

Did you run 7.0.3 before trying the AccUpdater?
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#5 Kerry Magruder

Kerry Magruder

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norman, Oklahoma, USA
  • Interests:History of science
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 31 August 2006 - 10:32 PM

Helen,

Thanks; yes I did. And I made sure to open nearly all of my modules as well. And restarted. And then reinstalled again, and did the same.

I wonder why that preferences file is not being created...?

PEACE
Kerry

#6 Kerry Magruder

Kerry Magruder

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norman, Oklahoma, USA
  • Interests:History of science
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 31 August 2006 - 10:43 PM

I got it!

The widget is now working!

I tried two things, one of which must have fixed it:

1. I repaired permissions using Disk Utilities.

2. Then I opened Accordance application directly. Before I had only opened it using my workspace file in the Dock. I had not opened Accordance by double clicking on it in the Finder rather than by opening my workspace file. Once it opened in a new workspace, I performed a search, quit Accordance, tried the widget again and it works!

Thanks for all your help.

PEACE
Kerry

#7 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 7,936 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 31 August 2006 - 10:44 PM

We'll have to talk to you and see if we cannot work it out, but not tonight. Please call the office tomorrow.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#8 Kerry Magruder

Kerry Magruder

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norman, Oklahoma, USA
  • Interests:History of science
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 01 September 2006 - 06:25 PM

Thanks Helen and Joel! All is well.

#9 Mick Matousek

Mick Matousek

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 12 November 2006 - 06:39 PM

AccUpdater is recently listing only a partial list. I have done all the usual fixes.

Deleted the following files:
com.OakTree.Accordance.Mod.txt
com.OakTree.Accordance.Path.txt
widget-com.(??OakTree......??).plist

Redownloaded AccUpdater
Reinstalled
Launched Accordance
Checked version 7.03

Where next ?

#10 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 7,936 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 12 November 2006 - 08:40 PM

I don't know what you mean by a partial list: it only lists modules that have a newer version listed in the online than the one you have installed.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#11 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 7,936 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 12 November 2006 - 09:04 PM

I don't know what you mean by a partial list: it only lists modules that have a newer version listed in the online than the one you have installed.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users