Jump to content


Photo

Can't sync via wi-fi to mobile device in 10.3.2


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Ken Hall

Ken Hall

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 11 November 2013 - 12:55 PM

Since installing Accordance 10.3.2, I am unable to sync my user notes and tools to my iPad and iPod. I get an error message on the devices, "I/O error #-43 in the file 'AccordSyncModules."

 

After communicating with an Accordance tech guy, I tried syncing through Dropbox, and that worked. However, it still won't sync via wi-fi. Anyone else having this problem?

 

Ken



#2 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 12 November 2013 - 03:23 PM

Ken,

 

Just to be clear, If you have linked Accordance for Mac to Dropbox then your user content can not be wi-fi synced. Accordance for Mac does not show your user content in the wi-fi sync "Sync with Mobile Device Dialog Box: Selecting Modules" dialog (only purchased modules are shown) when you are linked to Dropbox. This was done to prevent unncessary updates and potential bogus conflicts. 

 

The error reported on the device is very strange. Can you describe the steps you are taking to reproduce this error? 

 

 

Mike



#3 Ken Hall

Ken Hall

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 19 November 2013 - 06:09 PM

Mike,

 

Thanks for the note. Yes, I am aware that user content can't sync to mobile devices via wi-fi if dropbox sync is enabled. The problem occurred before enabling dropbox sync. Everything was fine in version 10.3.1, but immediately upon installing 10.3.2, and without dropbox sync enabled, only purchased content would sync, and personal data would not. I went a few rounds with tech support and they could not solve it. Basically, the sync would abort with the error message as stated above. 

 

Since then, I enabled dropbox sync, and user data I entered on my Mac syncs to both my iPad and iPod touch, and purchased content & updates continue to sync through 'sync with mobile device', so I am able to get everything synced, though with an extra step (which is ultimately not a big deal). The problem could possibly be with my MacBook, whose keyboard failed a couple months ago, and now I'm using an Apple bluetooth keyboard. However, the sync problem was not there with the external keyboard and Accordance 10.3.1.

 

Ken



#4 xcfamily

xcfamily

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Swansea, SC
  • Interests:Pastor
    Love to...
    - Serve my Savior
    - Be with my wife
    - Coach
    - Traditional Archery
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 22 November 2013 - 09:09 AM

I am having the same problem with the same error. I hadn't synced in a long time because everything i needed was already on my iphone 4. I loaded some updates and decided to sync the iphone to transfer the updates. Now I can't get the iphone to complete a sync via wifi. I do not have dropbox enabled. It will make it partway through the sync process and then give me the same error listed above. I tried many different variations of modules to see if I had a corrupted module but no matter how many variations it won't complete a sync. I then synced the iphone with only a couple of translations to clear the iphone and that sync was successful. But now I can't get it to sync with much of anything. It will do one or two translations but when I start adding much more it gives me an error. 



#5 xcfamily

xcfamily

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Swansea, SC
  • Interests:Pastor
    Love to...
    - Serve my Savior
    - Be with my wife
    - Coach
    - Traditional Archery
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 23 November 2013 - 03:58 PM

I tried to sync again today and had the same problem. I did notice that I get the I/O error only on the last module that I selected to sync. If I try and add 2 text modules then I get the error right after the process bar almost finishes on the last text load. If I select 20 other modules (texts, reference, etc.) all of them seem to load until the last module selected. Then it stops just like it does when I only select 2 texts. No matter how many modules I select none of them show up on my iphone when I get the error. 



#6 Ken Hall

Ken Hall

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 26 November 2013 - 12:40 PM

Have you tried enabling dropbox sync on your Mac and the iPhone? For me, the only way out of this problem is to sync user content via dropbox and Accordance content (i.e., modules) via 'sync with mobile device'. Yes, it's slightly cumbersome but at least it works.

 

It does sound like you have the identical problem to mine. I've given up on syncing user content via 'sync with mobile device' on wi-fi. Maybe someday I'll try it again, after another updated Accordance version comes out.

 

Ken



#7 xcfamily

xcfamily

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Swansea, SC
  • Interests:Pastor
    Love to...
    - Serve my Savior
    - Be with my wife
    - Coach
    - Traditional Archery
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 11 December 2013 - 07:31 AM

I curious why there hasn't been any response to this is such a long time. Is it because no one else is having problems with wifi syncing or is it because accordance is moving away from wifi syncing toward something like dropbox. 



#8 xcfamily

xcfamily

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Swansea, SC
  • Interests:Pastor
    Love to...
    - Serve my Savior
    - Be with my wife
    - Coach
    - Traditional Archery
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 11 December 2013 - 07:41 AM

I just updated to 10.3.3 and I am still having the same problem. 



#9 davidmedina

davidmedina

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 445 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Interests:God, my family, the Bible, photography and film.
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 11 December 2013 - 09:28 AM

I do not use Dropbox but sync via wi fi and haven't had any issues. I know that Dr. J suggest in his podcast to use one or the other but not both. He says is the prefer method if you have Accordance in your computer. Could it be a corrupted file somewhere? Hope you get it fix soon.

Edited by davidmedina, 11 December 2013 - 09:29 AM.

"Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect." Rom. 12:2
 
Blog: The Renewed Mind.

#10 Rick Bennett

Rick Bennett

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 1,740 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa Bay, FL
  • Interests: gadgets, coffee, running and cycling, Rays baseball
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 11 December 2013 - 09:56 AM

I just updated to 10.3.3 and I am still having the same problem. 

 

I recommend contacting tech support so they can try to diagnose the issue. It is too complex to do on a forum post (too many variables).


Rick Bennett
Director of Content Development
iOS Working Group


#11 xcfamily

xcfamily

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Swansea, SC
  • Interests:Pastor
    Love to...
    - Serve my Savior
    - Be with my wife
    - Coach
    - Traditional Archery
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 26 December 2013 - 10:33 AM

Just installed the new iphone app. The app did change the above problem. Whenever I sync now it does not go through the whole process of loading the modules and then give the error code on the last module. Now it gives me the same error code as soon as I hit the "sync now" button. 



#12 Billy32792

Billy32792

    Member

  • Accordance
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 31 December 2013 - 05:19 PM

Just as an update, although we are not sure what caused this issue in the first place, a clean install of both the Mac Accordance 10 and the iAccord

1.7 cleared this issue.

 

Happy New Year everybody!



#13 xcfamily

xcfamily

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Swansea, SC
  • Interests:Pastor
    Love to...
    - Serve my Savior
    - Be with my wife
    - Coach
    - Traditional Archery
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 02 January 2014 - 02:41 PM

Thanks for the help everyone. The clean install was a pain, but the fix was good and I am very pleased with the advice I received. 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users