Jump to content


Photo

10.3.3 - user notes


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 nigelmu

nigelmu

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 06 December 2013 - 03:41 AM

As an avid taker of notes for years on the Mac and now on the PC - you seem to have rather shifted your approach to saving user notes in 10.3.3. 

 

I have always made a habit of using the 'control s' keystroke to regularly save my notes.  (With the windows version still 'developing' this has become all the more important as crashes are fairly common).  I see as of 10.3.3 that when I ctrl s - it closes the edit window. 

 

Can this feature be disabled or controlled in some way or is this actually a bug?

 

Many thanks

Nigel


  • Abram K-J likes this

#2 Steve King

Steve King

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire, UK
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 06 December 2013 - 06:40 AM

This is a statement from the updates page for 10.3.3. 

 

  • Command-S from a notes edit window now also closes the window, if it is displayed over a pane

 

See the following page http://www.accordanc...om/New-Since-10. Windows info is towards the bottom of the page.


Steve King Running Accordance 11.0.2 on:

Mac 10.9.5 (Mavericks), mid-2010 Macbook Pro, 4Gb RAM

IOS 8 (iPad 2 and iPhone 5)


#3 Tony Lawrence

Tony Lawrence

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 253 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:McMinnville, TN
  • Interests:Hosting Bible Land Tours, Expository Preaching, My granddaughter
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 06 December 2013 - 08:41 AM

This is a statement from the updates page for 10.3.3. 

 

  • Command-S from a notes edit window now also closes the window, if it is displayed over a pane

 

See the following page http://www.accordanc...om/New-Since-10. Windows info is towards the bottom of the page.

This has been a frustrating change. I have been a Mac user since 1985 and have a habit of saving periodically as I work. This comes from previous years where software wasn't that stable and if you didn't save often you could lose your work. I can't tell you how many times since 10.3.3 that I have been typing in a note and saved only to close my window. I would like to suggest a return to the previous set up of clicking the "update" button or using Command-W. Or, at least allow us the option to disable this "feature."


  • Abram K-J likes this
Tony Lawrence
biblelandphotos.org

#4 Daniel Semler

Daniel Semler

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 06 December 2013 - 10:05 AM

When I first saw this changed I was puzzled by it given the presence of Cmd/Ctrl-W which already closes the window and which still works. And yes its handy to have a periodic save which does not close the editor. But I'm also puzzled by something else. The update notes say this :

 

  • Command-S from a notes edit window now also closes the window, if it is displayed over a pane

What does "if it is displayed over a pane" mean ? I have tried putting it to the side of my workspace over the desktop and it still closes on cmd-S.

 

So while I would prefer this change were reverted I am curious why it was done - it was clearly intentional. I also note that it was restricted to notes and not applied to tools. And no, I'm not advocating that it be applied there too, but I don't understand why those two editors are not basically identical functionally.

 

Thx
D


Accordance Configurations :
 
Mac : 2009 27" iMac                 Windows : HP 4540s laptop
      Intel Core Duo                          Intel i5 Ivy Bridge
      12GB RAM                                8GB RAM
      Accordance 11.0.1                       Accordance 11.0.1
      OSX 10.9 (Mavericks)                    Win 7 Professional x64 SP1


#5 Ken Han

Ken Han

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 612 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego, CA
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 06 December 2013 - 10:58 AM

I am not a fan either. From my (therefore biased) perspective, it doesn't help my workflow but impedes it. Cmd-S and then Cmd-W to save and then close a document window is a habit learned over many years of Mac use across all different kinds of apps. I can't tell how many times I accidentally closed a window I did not want to close because of my Cmd-S and Cmd-W kicking in even after Cmd-S already closed the edit window. My Cmd-S then Cmd-W ends up closing the active text / tool views, which I have to reopen.

 

I think Accordance is a very complex app, and it doesn't help when it does unexpected things against the normal Mac / Window conventions. I think it's just going to make the learning curve even more steeper than it already is.


  • Abram K-J likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users