What are the best export settings?

davidmedina

What are the best setting for the Export preference (specially fonts) so I can get the greek and hebrew exported correctly into Word and Pages?

Thanks

Unicode for sure. Outside of that it is up to you. Any of the additional options can also be formatted in your word processor. As you may know, Word for Mac does not handle RTL Unicode properly (e.g. Hebrew, Arabic, etc). Pages does an OK job with Hebrew, though vowels and cantillation marks are often misaligned.

Would Scrivener do better than Word and Pages?

Actually, that's one app I haven't tested or used. Maybe others can chime in…

What app would you suggest? I saw Mounce using a different one too.

I have no experience with this but it's been discussed on the forums numerous times and may be what you are looking for David.

http://www.mellel.com

You can search the forums for threads on word processors; it comes up often. In short, it depends on what you're working on, and how much Hebrew you plan to use. If you are a student or academic making extensive use of Hebrew and other original languages, then I'd recommend Nisus Writer Pro, or Mellel; they are the best at handling languages. My preference would be NWP.

If you are writing sermons or Bible studies, and occasionally use Greek or Hebrew then Pages would be fine. Word for Mac I think can handle a single Hebrew word correctly (unless it wraps across a line). You can also use Word for Windows under emulation; it is way better than the Mac version.

Thanks.

I mostly write articles and messages. Occasional mention of Greek words

I mentioned Scrivener because is one of the ones I own already. I just like to have a little more power that I currently need

I am no fan of Word but it is pretty much a standard. I prefer pages as I find it easier to use. I tried Scrivener but it seems to have a learning curve so I would need to justify spending g time learning it.