Jump to content


Photo

Two User Notes locations...why?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Abram K-J

Abram K-J

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,972 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greater Boston, MA
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 08 February 2014 - 09:12 AM

I had quite a scare yesterday during my sermon prep when my User Notes file somehow
dropped its file extension when I tried to sync with Dropbox, then Dropbox automatically deleted it. Thanks to help from tech support, coupled with my own sleuthing, I restored it from a previous version in the Dropbox trash.

I don't know if the file might still be corrupt, though I can use and update and sync now.

When looking around, I saw the same-named file both in Documents/Accordance Files as well as in my Library/Application Support in Shared User Notes.

Two questions:

1. Which one does Dropbox draw from? I assume the former, since the latter is hidden.
2. Why the redundancy? Do I need the notes both places?

Abram K-J
Pastor, Writer, Editor, Blogger
Web: Words on the Word

 

Accordance 11 on Yosemite: early 2008 iMac / late 2008 MacBook

Latest iAccord on latest iOS on iPad mini


#2 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 335 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 09 February 2014 - 04:29 PM

Two questions:

1. Which one does Dropbox draw from? I assume the former, since the latter is hidden.

 

 

The Documents/Accordance Files folder is the default location of your user content files.

 

I am not sure what happended with your user note file, but here is some info on syncing with Dropbox that might have caused the problem:

  • Accordance will sync your user content files that are "installed" (only files that show up in library)
  • When Dropbox syncing wants to "delete" a file, Desktop Accordance will remove it from the library but it will not move the actual file to the trash.
  • Accordance might have had some problems when it added extensions to your user content if there were existing uninstalled files, etc.

So, given the info above, make sure that you only have one copy of your user content files in your Documents/Accordance Files folder (possibly left over after restoring with Dropbox). For example, you do not want a "My Notes" file and a "My Notes.acc4" file.

 

 

 

 

2. Why the redundancy? Do I need the notes both places?

 

The Shared User Notes folder is a legacy folder first introduced in version 7 of Accordance. It was used for Multi User Accordance installations and would help distribute shared user content when a new user was added. Now that Accordance defaults to user domain installations (single users), I don't think it is used for anything. What is the last modified date on this file?


  • Abram K-J likes this

#3 Abram K-J

Abram K-J

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,972 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greater Boston, MA
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 10 February 2014 - 08:29 PM

Thank you, Mike! This is helpful. I don't have the right computer in front of me just now to check, but the last modified date in the Shared User Notes folder is significantly earlier than the one in the Accordance Files... also smaller.

 

If I'm never going to share Accordance with another user on a given computer, can I delete everything in those Shared folders?


Abram K-J
Pastor, Writer, Editor, Blogger
Web: Words on the Word

 

Accordance 11 on Yosemite: early 2008 iMac / late 2008 MacBook

Latest iAccord on latest iOS on iPad mini


#4 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 335 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 11 February 2014 - 09:27 AM

Abram,

 

I don't know of a reason to keep the old files in the Shared folders.

 

Mike


  • Abram K-J likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users