#1 bfrostad

bfrostad

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 16 June 2014 - 11:44 AM

Hello,

I am new to the Accordance forum, and somewhat new to Accordance. I am running Accordance 10 on Window, as well as iOS. (Enjoying it thoroughly, by the way!)

Anyway, I have noticed that BHS-T doesn't display qere/ketib as does HMT-W4. I was surprised by this. I realize that there are some small differences between the two modules: BHS-T intends to replicate the printed BHS, while HMT-W4 follows the most up-to-date morphology for the Leningrad codex (without the BHS apparatus). But I would have assumed that BHS-T would have some way of indicating qere/ketib as well. Am I missing something? I have tried comparing the two, and it seems that BHS-T switches back and forth between following the qere and following the ketib.

Is there any documentation that explains how these two modules deal with qere/ketib? Is there any rhyme or reason as to whether BHS-T follows qere or ketib?

Thanks!

Ben

#2 James Tucker

James Tucker

Platinum

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 644 posts

Posted 16 June 2014 - 05:45 PM

The BHS-T should follow the ketiv as opposed to qere. There are two problems with this issue that are awaiting a conclusion. The first is that tagged hebrew texts do not allow multiple tags on one lemma. As you are likely aware, the differences in the ketiv/qere readings sometimes will result in a different morphological tag. Thus, to accommodate both, Accordance needs to accommodate multiple tags on one lemma.

The second issue awaiting conclusion is how to display the ketiv/qere. The manner in which they are displayed in BHS-W4 is less than ideal, but pragmatically it works. The ability to host multiple displays is more than reasonable given the plethora of algorithms extant to resolve this issue. However, its not a matter of can it be done, but when it will be done.