Jump to content


Photo

Accordance won't install


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 CharlyG

CharlyG

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 30 December 2006 - 11:51 AM

I am not allowed to post a new topic and this is the closest to mu problem. I keep installing tha latest download, but Accordance is nowhere to be found on my HD. Was' up with that? I paid my 39 bucks, used the unlock code, no error messages, but no Accordance?

#2 Robb Brunansky

Robb Brunansky

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 708 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 30 December 2006 - 12:03 PM

Did you do a spotlight search on your system for Accordance? If it's not in your Applications folder in the Accordance folder, do a spotlight search and see what results you get. Make sure you notice where you tell the installer to install Accordance as well.
Soli Deo Gloria,
Robb Brunansky

#3 CharlyG

CharlyG

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 30 December 2006 - 12:28 PM

Yes, and it is not installed. I told it to put it in the App folder this time, as it did not install it at the root as per the notes. It is "pretending" to install again as we speak. It installed the widgets to the desktop but nothing else!

Edited by CharlyG, 30 December 2006 - 12:29 PM.


#4 Robb Brunansky

Robb Brunansky

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 708 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 30 December 2006 - 12:34 PM

If it doesn't work this time, try downloading a different zipped format for the installer and see if that helps. Do you have any modules you purchased or any CDs you could use to install?
Soli Deo Gloria,
Robb Brunansky

#5 CharlyG

CharlyG

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 30 December 2006 - 12:44 PM

I tried the sit and the dmg. It is no longer asking for the unlock code, so it thinks it has been installed! I just went inot terminal and looked everwhere for any sign of it. Nothing! It will not let me look at the root, I get permission denied.

Edited by CharlyG, 30 December 2006 - 06:36 PM.


#6 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,223 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 30 December 2006 - 01:41 PM

Sometimes the installer finds invisible copies of Accordance that are in backup files from another computer, or in the trash. Try using the Find command to look for invisible files with Accordance in the name.

You can post a new topic, you would just need to wait until it is approved by a moderator. I am now making this a new topic.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#7 CharlyG

CharlyG

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 30 December 2006 - 03:06 PM

Thank you! I must be talking to the right folks, you are Member #2!!! Neither Find (under Finder), or Spotlight finds much of anything! Is there an "UNINSTALL", like us previous PC folks are used to?

#8 Lorinda H. M. Hoover

Lorinda H. M. Hoover

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,166 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Iowa
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 30 December 2006 - 05:36 PM

This sounds vaguely like a problem I had consistently trying to install updated from downloaded installers on a laptop mac running system 8. The installer would wipe out my current copy of Accordance but not install a new copy. Despite excellent help from Helen and others at Accordance, we were never able to track it down. In my case, the solution
was to use a CD based installer, which still wiped the application, but then I could copy the correct application directly from the CD. I was content with that solution given that there was no easy fix.

Chances are your problem is a different issue, but I mention it just in case there is a connection between the two.


Lorinda
Running Accordance on:
Mac 10.9 (Mavericks)
iOS 7 (iPad)
Windows Vista Home Premium

#9 CharlyG

CharlyG

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 30 December 2006 - 05:50 PM

Well. it has nothing to wipe, but doesn't install either. There is a note that says it installs in the root of the hard drive, but OS X does not show you the structure of the hard drive. I may need to go into the shell and see if it put it somewhere that OS X does not "see". I shoud see etc folders and such I assume, if it is based on Unix.

#10 CharlyG

CharlyG

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 30 December 2006 - 08:19 PM

I have entered Terminal mode and snooped around. I can find NOTHING anywhere that references Accordance. Something is hiding somewhere! I should have gotten an error if the files didn't write properly?

#11 CharlyG

CharlyG

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 30 December 2006 - 11:23 PM

I got it running! I created a folder under Applications, and forced it there. It still mad a sub folder called Accordance Folder, so I moved it up a level and I'm going off to check it out. I have/had the Logos Scholar Edition but I bit the bullet and bought an iMac when my pc died. And I am a pc desktop tech by trade! So, I will be checking this pgm out as Logos is still dragging its feet!

#12 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,223 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 31 December 2006 - 12:44 AM

Please leave the application inside the Accordance folder or you will lose the relationship with all the other files! I do not understand what you did, exactly, but do not move Accordance itself, just the entire folder.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#13 CharlyG

CharlyG

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 31 December 2006 - 11:43 AM

Yup, that's what I did. I just moved the Accordance Folder up under Applications instead of under Applications/Accordance/ Accordance Folder/. It shouldn't affect anything, as the relationship below that folder didn't change.

#14 CharlyG

CharlyG

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 31 December 2006 - 04:12 PM

More good news. I just purchased Library 7! I can't wait! I already like it better than Logos!

#15 jpkang

jpkang

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA
  • Interests:Comparative Semitics; ancient Hebrew semantics; Hebrew syntax; history and religion of ancient Israel; history of interpretation.
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 02 January 2007 - 02:15 PM

I am not allowed to post a new topic and this is the closest to mu problem. I keep installing tha latest download, but Accordance is nowhere to be found on my HD. Was' up with that? I paid my 39 bucks, used the unlock code, no error messages, but no Accordance?

It sounds like you might have a permissions issue with /Applications--have you tried running Disk Utility's "Repair Disk Permissions"?

Another troubleshooting option (for future reference) for the technically inclined like yourself would be to have Console open (with console.log selected) to see if installers are logging anything intelligible there.

For any reading this post who may not be familiar with OS X, both Disk Utility and Console are in /Applications/Utilities.
J. P. Kang, Ph.D. (Bible)

#16 CharlyG

CharlyG

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 02 January 2007 - 09:53 PM

It sounds like you might have a permissions issue with /Applications--have you tried running Disk Utility's "Repair Disk Permissions"?

Another troubleshooting option (for future reference) for the technically inclined like yourself would be to have Console open (with console.log selected) to see if installers are logging anything intelligible there.

For any reading this post who may not be familiar with OS X, both Disk Utility and Console are in /Applications/Utilities.


Good call! Check this out....

Permissions differ on ./Applications, should be drwxrwxr-x , they are drwxrwxrwx

#17 jpkang

jpkang

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA
  • Interests:Comparative Semitics; ancient Hebrew semantics; Hebrew syntax; history and religion of ancient Israel; history of interpretation.
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 03 January 2007 - 12:38 PM

Permissions differ on ./Applications, should be drwxrwxr-x , they are drwxrwxrwx

Interesting--not what I would expect, since it seems to indicate that write permissions ("w") were enabled, but maybe the incorrect owner/group are specified for /Applications. Can you click on your Applications folder and do a File > Get Info (cmd-I), and disclose the Ownership & Permissions panel?

The values should be:

Owner: system
Group: admin
Others: read only

Your password is necessary when installing Accordance to give it "admin" rights to install, and if /Applications is owned by a different group, it will probably fail (though I am puzzled why no error message was apparently given).
J. P. Kang, Ph.D. (Bible)

#18 CharlyG

CharlyG

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 05 January 2007 - 01:37 AM

Yes, those are the settings. This ordeal may be pay back for all the ribbing I have given Mac guys over the years! What goes around, comes around. I love this iMac and will never look back!

#19 CharlyG

CharlyG

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 06 January 2007 - 03:24 PM

To close the loop. I just received, and installed Library 7 Premium. It looks so cool! I have no clue how to use it yet, but I figured out Logos, so............




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users