Jump to content


Photo

AccUpdater dysfunction


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Michael J. Bolesta

Michael J. Bolesta

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 677 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Addison TX
  • Interests:scripture study, preaching, teaching
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 12 January 2007 - 02:54 PM

Helen, the Read Me only speaks of running 7.1 at least once (I have). I reset the widget as described. I did reinstall AccUpdate 2.1.2 today. I repaired permissions and rebooted. Same result. "Please run Accordance before scanning. Contact tech support for further help."

This is a new Mac (Intel) running OS X 10.4.8 and a fresh installation of Accordance 7.1 (including reinstallation of the widget as noted). I am the only account and user. Accordance installed its folder in the default location of Applications on the partition of the hard drive containing the system software.

Thanks.
M

On Jan 12, 2007, at 8:47 AM, Helen Brown wrote:

Have you tried the troubleshooting tips in the Read Me? Reloading the widget, etc.?

Helen

On Jan 12, 2007, at 8:30 AM, Michael J Bolesta wrote:

I cannot get the updater to work. It says run Accordance first (which I have done), then it gives the prompt to contact you.

The installer for 7.1 placed the folder and files in the applications folder on the partition with the system. I am running 10.4.8 on a Macbook Pro.

Thanks.
M

Michael


#2 Joel Brown

Joel Brown

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • 2,525 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 19 January 2007 - 11:12 PM

After some private consultation with Mr. Bolesta, we determined the problem was that the Users folder was not located on the same harddrive/partition as his system. If you have this similar setup and are having trouble with the AccUpdater, create an alias (command-option drag) of your Users folder in the root level of your system drive, such that any pathnames will automatically redirect to the appropriate place. Sorry for the extra hassle for you users.
Joel Brown

By day: Consultant for Oaktree
By night: Freelance Trombonist and Private Instructor

#3 jackcav

jackcav

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Asheboro, NC
  • Interests:Bible Teaching
    Database Programming
    Golf (but no time)
    Fishing
  • Accordance Version:8.x

Posted 21 January 2007 - 08:25 PM

Joel

What do you mean by "Users folder"? I could not find a folder with this name on my system. If you mean the "Accordance Files" folder in my Documents folder, then an alias of it on the System disk made no difference. Every attempt to update NIV Naves or Bible Difficulties to end with "Failed, Please try again." To me, AccUpdater has been a dismal failure. I would much rather that Oak Tree make updates available on the web page. Logos can do it. Why not Accordance?

Jack Caviness

#4 Joel Brown

Joel Brown

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • 2,525 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 21 January 2007 - 11:02 PM

The users folder is created by default on the same drive that your system is kept, and is called "Users". If you go to your home directory, then go up a level (command-Up arrow), you'll be looking at your Users folder. If you can't find this folder, thats a good signal to why the updater isn't working. I apologize the AccUpdater isn't working, but it appears to be fulfilling its primary function (identify which modules need updating to help keep track of things) quite well. Even though the installation might not be working smoothly, due to what seems like a very odd rogue installation of OS X, calling it a 'dismal failure' seems a tad overdramatic.
Joel Brown

By day: Consultant for Oaktree
By night: Freelance Trombonist and Private Instructor

#5 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,040 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 22 January 2007 - 02:34 AM

Making all the updates available for individual download is a massive and complicated project, and frankly beyond what we can manage at present. The AccUpdater files are much easier to manage.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#6 jackcav

jackcav

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Asheboro, NC
  • Interests:Bible Teaching
    Database Programming
    Golf (but no time)
    Fishing
  • Accordance Version:8.x

Posted 22 January 2007 - 02:38 PM

The users folder is created by default on the same drive that your system is kept, and is called "Users". If you go to your home directory, then go up a level (command-Up arrow), you'll be looking at your Users folder. If you can't find this folder, thats a good signal to why the updater isn't working. I apologize the AccUpdater isn't working, but it appears to be fulfilling its primary function (identify which modules need updating to help keep track of things) quite well. Even though the installation might not be working smoothly, due to what seems like a very odd rogue installation of OS X, calling it a 'dismal failure' seems a tad overdramatic.


I do have a folder named "Users," but you appeared to be speaking of another folder titled "users folder." Sorry for the misunderstanding.

However, for me, AccUpdater has failed repeatedly. It does me no good to tell me that I have out-of-date resources, but no way to update them.

Jack

Making all the updates available for individual download is a massive and complicated project, and frankly beyond what we can manage at present. The AccUpdater files are much easier to manage.


Easier to manage, yes. But totally unworkable for me.

Jack

#7 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,040 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 23 January 2007 - 02:17 PM

Jack:

I am sorry about your frustration. I know you have had some problems, some of which were due to errors on my part in the way that modules were posted. You were able to get some updates, though, and you have ordered a full CD upgrade. Please write to me directly if there are specific modules that do not get updated.

The widget encounters difficulties with unusual setups of the computer, as above, and because it relies on certain Apple routines and software. It does work for most people on OS 10.4, and provides an easy and free means of updating most modules. Users often have to run it more than once to get all the updates successfully.

It is simply not possible to post all those modules for individual download, and it is much more hassle for the user to download and run an installer for each module. For now, this is the best system that we have, and Joel goes to great lengths to solve each problem as it arises.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#8 jackcav

jackcav

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Asheboro, NC
  • Interests:Bible Teaching
    Database Programming
    Golf (but no time)
    Fishing
  • Accordance Version:8.x

Posted 24 January 2007 - 06:28 AM

Helen

Those of us who only post when we have problems must sound perpetually cranky. Actually, I believe that Accordance is an excellent product that is worth far more than I have spent on it over the years.

Frustration is no excuse for bad manners. Please accept my apology. (I did write to you directly.)

Jack

Jack:

I am sorry about your frustration. I know you have had some problems, some of which were due to errors on my part in the way that modules were posted. You were able to get some updates, though, and you have ordered a full CD upgrade. Please write to me directly if there are specific modules that do not get updated.

The widget encounters difficulties with unusual setups of the computer, as above, and because it relies on certain Apple routines and software. It does work for most people on OS 10.4, and provides an easy and free means of updating most modules. Users often have to run it more than once to get all the updates successfully.

It is simply not possible to post all those modules for individual download, and it is much more hassle for the user to download and run an installer for each module. For now, this is the best system that we have, and Joel goes to great lengths to solve each problem as it arises.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users