Jump to content


Photo

"Queen of Syncing Difficulties" this is not a title I covet . . .


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Julie Falling

Julie Falling

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,204 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Numerous!
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 19 October 2014 - 09:02 PM

I was not surprised that Accordance thought I had a new computer after Yosemite was installed.  It was to be expected.  And though having to erase Accordance on the iPad and reload all the modules wasn't much fun, I did it and got it all organized.  But then this morning when an Accordance-Mac 'Sync with Mobile Device' was attempted, the same issue showed up again.  

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 9.33.01 PM.jpg   42.17KB   0 downloads

 

All that has happened between the successful sync yesterday and the unsuccessful one this morning is a reboot of both computer and iPad.  My iPhone 5s is still syncing perfectly.

 

In the iPad Settings, all the Accordance stuff has been reset more than once (Saved Session Removed, Highlights Reset, Download Cache Cleared).

 

Help!  Do I really need to erase and and reinstall?  iOS 8.1 is due out tomorrow.  Wait and see?  A bit frustrated at this point.

 

MacBook Air, mid 2013

OS 10.10

Accordance 10.4.3.2

 

iPad Air 1

OS 8.0.2

iAcc 1.7.6

 

 


Julia Falling

 

Accordance 10

MacBook Air Mavericks

Mac mini Mavericks

iPad Air iOS 7

 

 


#2 Scott Knapp

Scott Knapp

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 1,091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 19 October 2014 - 09:11 PM

Julia,

I'm sorry to hear about your syncing issues. All I can add at this point is that the desktop app determines whether or not to show this dialog window and enforce this limitation. Resetting the various iOS options has no effect on the problem. Hopefully someone from the desktop,app team can offer further guidance.

Scott

#3 Julie Falling

Julie Falling

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,204 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Numerous!
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 19 October 2014 - 09:22 PM

Thanks, Scott.  And you're right – resetting the iOS options had no effect.  Doing so and rebooting the iPad often corrected the Bonjour problems.  I was just at the point of trying everything rather and erase and reload.  And since I just did that yesterday and nothing has changed, there didn't seem much point in spending all that time redoing it all.


Julia Falling

 

Accordance 10

MacBook Air Mavericks

Mac mini Mavericks

iPad Air iOS 7

 

 


#4 Ryan Gustason

Ryan Gustason

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Yesterday, 07:35 AM

Julie, did you try deleting your preference files in Accordance on your Mac?  (Library, Application Support, Accordance).  I had a lot of issues after upgrading to Yosemite, and this solved my issues.


Edited by Ryan Gustason, Yesterday, 07:36 AM.


#5 Julie Falling

Julie Falling

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,204 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Numerous!
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Yesterday, 08:30 AM

Ryan – Thanks.  Sounds like a plan.  I'll give it a try when we get home from school this afternoon.  I'm wondering if that may have caused the Accordance-DropBox sync issues as well.  Since most of you aren't experiencing these problems, I think it's on my end.  I'll report back and let you know what happens.


Julia Falling

 

Accordance 10

MacBook Air Mavericks

Mac mini Mavericks

iPad Air iOS 7

 

 


#6 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Yesterday, 08:55 AM

Julie,

 

Sorry for your troubles!

 

I will investigate WiFi syncing on Yosemite to determine if something has changed (that would affect how Accordance keeps track of the devices that are WiFi synced). Accordance should be able to remember your device after a system upgrade.

 

Are you using WiFi sync to move more modules to your device -or- for user content syncing? If the latter then (in the meantime) you should be able to “sync user content” to your iPad until we determine the cause of your syncing problem.

 

Mike



#7 Julie Falling

Julie Falling

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,204 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Numerous!
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Yesterday, 09:24 AM

Hey, Mike – Thanks for taking an interest.  And I hate to be a bother.  

 

I use the wi-fi sync to both load and update.  When I work that way, the modules appear in the same order in the sync window as they do in my Library – it makes it so much easier to organize the iPad Library that way.  

 

Since no one else seems to be struggling with this stuff, there must be something wrong on my MBA somewhere.  

 

Rather than redoing everything from the ground up, perhaps I should start with the Accordance prefs?  Is there something short of trashing the entire folder that might work?  I didn't see anything in the Preference files that seemed to be sync-specific.

 

I've had problems with the DropBox sync as well.  DropBox sync is the fastest and easiest way to update User Notes and User Tools.  However, between crashing (mobile device and Mac) and the disappearance of User Notes, I've been holding out until the Accordance-Mac update.  But now I'm wondering if all the sync issues have the same source.  

 

I may end up as your go-to person when you need to find out how messed up an install can get.  I really don't want to be that person, however.

 

If necessary, I have no problems doing a clean install of Mac OS and Accordance.


Julia Falling

 

Accordance 10

MacBook Air Mavericks

Mac mini Mavericks

iPad Air iOS 7

 

 


#8 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Yesterday, 10:17 AM

Hey, Mike – Thanks for taking an interest.  And I hate to be a bother.  

 

I use the wi-fi sync to both load and update.  When I work that way, the modules appear in the same order in the sync window as they do in my Library – it makes it so much easier to organize the iPad Library that way.  

 

Since no one else seems to be struggling with this stuff, there must be something wrong on my MBA somewhere.  Rather than redoing everything from the ground up, perhaps I should start with the Accordance prefs?  Is there something short of trashing the entire folder that might work?  I didn't see anything in the Preference files that seemed to be sync-specific.

 

 

Given that you are using WiFi syncing for easier setups, etc., let me run some tests on my end before changing/reinstalling anything. I have to revert some things to get back to released copies on my desktops and devices to properly try to recreate your scenario. 

 

Mike



#9 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Yesterday, 11:41 AM

Julie,

 

I was able to “link” my iPhone 5s (iOS 8.0.2) to my MBAir (Yosemite) using Erase and Sync that was previously “linked” to my iMac (Mavericks).

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 11.39.49 AM.png   97.63KB   0 downloads

 

I restarted my MBAir and iPhone and was able to WiFi sync normally.

 

I did discover a bug with Erase and Sync that did not sync over my selected Text modules the first time. I had to sync again to get the Text modules over to my device. iAccord requires at least one text installed to function properly. We are investigating this bug.

 

I suggest that you try Erase and Sync again with your iPad and only sync your first few Text modules. Remember, you will have to repeat the first few Text modules to work around the bug I found.

 

After syncing a few Text modules successfully then restart everything and let us know if you still get the Erase and Sync message.

 

 

Mike



#10 Julie Falling

Julie Falling

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,204 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Numerous!
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Yesterday, 04:00 PM

Mike – I erased and synced the iPad with just the top few modules.  And only one of them was actually loaded onto the iPad.  That happened the first time I erased and synced, too.  I added the next few.  Then I rebooted both MBAir and iPad and gave it a try.  No recognition problems.  Thanks!  

 

I'll load a few more modules from the other categories and see what happens.

 

Has something been fixed so that this won't recur, or has something changed in my iPad?  And it's odd that I never had the problem with my iPhone.

 

Do you want me to try anything else?

 

Thanks, again.


Julia Falling

 

Accordance 10

MacBook Air Mavericks

Mac mini Mavericks

iPad Air iOS 7

 

 


#11 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Yesterday, 05:14 PM

Julie,

 

I am not sure what happened the first time. Potentially a sync error (the Text module bug or another error that we don’t properly handle or report) prevented the “link” to be established.  Now that the “link” is established then I think you can sync larger sets of modules -or- complete the entire sync set.

 

We will investigate the Text module bug for a future revision of iAccord (nothing fixed yet). 

 

Let us know if you are able to get all the modules over to your iPad.

 

 

Mike



#12 Julie Falling

Julie Falling

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,204 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Numerous!
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Yesterday, 05:30 PM

I went ahead and loaded all the modules onto the iPad that I wanted there.  Went very smoothly.  Now I'm going to reboot everything again and see what happens. 


Julia Falling

 

Accordance 10

MacBook Air Mavericks

Mac mini Mavericks

iPad Air iOS 7

 

 


#13 Julie Falling

Julie Falling

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,204 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Numerous!
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Yesterday, 05:37 PM

Rebooted computer and iPad.  Synced without a hitch.  It appears that the recognition problems were just a fluke?

 

 I think I've been dethroned.  That's a good thing.

 

Thanks, Mike.


Julia Falling

 

Accordance 10

MacBook Air Mavericks

Mac mini Mavericks

iPad Air iOS 7

 

 


#14 Bob Deacon

Bob Deacon

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Murfreesboro, North Carolina
  • Interests:Bible, computers
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Today, 04:59 AM

Well Julie, it looks like I might have taken your place! I have had syncing issues for quite some time. Dropbox is out of course so I now sync by means of a flash drive between my iMac and MacBook Pro. I am UNABLE to sync to my iPad mini. Two days ago (right after Yosemite release) it looked like it was going to work again. It synced some modules but DID NOT sync notes or highlights! I am using Yosemite on both the iMac and the MBP and iOS 8.1 on the mini. I am hoping 10.4.5 might fix this and hopefully Accordance 11 when it arrives.

 

Bob


Bob Deacon
Retired Pastor

Murfreesboro, NC


#15 Julie Falling

Julie Falling

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,204 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Numerous!
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Today, 07:22 AM

Well, Bob, you just can't be Queen, but King is OK.  :rolleyes: Not a coveted title, either.  What perplexes me is that there really are just a few of us having these issues.  The rest of the folks are not posting here about problems.  There must be some corruption somewhere on our machines that they don't have.  I, too, am hoping that Acc-11 will solve the DropBox syncing issues.  It is not too far off.  I'm not sure beta testing has begun, however.

 

One thing we might both consider is a clean install of Yosemite, waiting until after Acc-11 is released.  If the problems persist, even if sporadic, it would probably be worth the time and hassle.  I'm in wait and see mode for now.


Edited by Julie Falling, Today, 09:02 AM.

Julia Falling

 

Accordance 10

MacBook Air Mavericks

Mac mini Mavericks

iPad Air iOS 7

 

 


#16 Bob Deacon

Bob Deacon

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Murfreesboro, North Carolina
  • Interests:Bible, computers
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Today, 08:24 AM

Thought about the king thing after I posted. I did a fresh install of yosemite and still the problem persists! Holding out for 10.4.5 and Acc 11.

Bob

Bob Deacon
Retired Pastor

Murfreesboro, NC


#17 Julie Falling

Julie Falling

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,204 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Numerous!
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Today, 09:03 AM

Bob – I think that will probably take care of the problem, especially Acc-11.


Julia Falling

 

Accordance 10

MacBook Air Mavericks

Mac mini Mavericks

iPad Air iOS 7

 

 





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users