Jump to content


Photo

Accordance occasionally stops accepting any keyboard input


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Bret Hicks

Bret Hicks

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Annapolis, Maryland
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 09 December 2014 - 06:48 AM

Periodically Accordance simply stops accepting keyboard input of any sort.  I can not type in a note, or type in a new search verse - no keyboard at all is accepted.  I can still highlight in open resources and such, but the keyboard does not respond.  (And yes it still works find in all other apps.)  When this happens, the only thing I can do is close and reopen Accordance, and then everything works fine.

 

I am using Accordance 11.0.2 on a late 2011 MacBook Pro with Yosemite 10.10.1.

 

Any suggestions?

 

 

In Christ,

 

 

Bret



#2 Rick Bennett

Rick Bennett

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 1,876 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa Bay, FL
  • Interests: gadgets, coffee, running and cycling, Rays baseball
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 09 December 2014 - 04:41 PM

This happened to me once during a demo at SBL. I have not been able to reproduce it since then, though.


Rick Bennett
Director of Content Development
iOS Working Group


#3 jeremyduncan

jeremyduncan

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Calgary, AB
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 09 December 2014 - 05:27 PM

Happens to me periodically as well. No idea how to reproduce it though. 



#4 Bret Hicks

Bret Hicks

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Annapolis, Maryland
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 09 December 2014 - 06:18 PM

It happened off and on all day.  And sometimes Accordance simply crashes and disappears in a flash - no skinny ball or anything.

 

I will say I had no problems like this under Accordance 11 until I began using user notes, and every time it has happened I had a note open for editing.  (The same note in fact.....)  Not sure if that helps....

 

 

In Christ,

 

 

Bret



#5 Kit

Kit

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Hebrew, Greek, Textual Criticism, Church History, OT, NT, Dead Sea Scrolls, Ancient history
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 09 December 2014 - 10:38 PM

yeah. it happened to me too.



#6 Pchris

Pchris

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark
  • Interests:Old Testament Exegesis, The Ancient Near East, the Hamito-Semitic languages, Ancient Greek, Mythology
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X

Posted 10 December 2014 - 05:54 AM

I've seen it happen every now and then, too. But I found out by accident that changing the keyboard layout actually makes it possible to type letters again.


Edited by Pchris, 10 December 2014 - 05:55 AM.

  • circuitrider likes this

Accordance Version: 11.0.3 

Hardware: MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7 (medio 2012)
Operating System: OSX 10.9.5 Mavericks.


#7 John Fidel

John Fidel

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 10 December 2014 - 07:21 AM

I have had this occur a few times when entering a passage in the "go" box. I restarted the program and it was able to input again.



#8 circuitrider

circuitrider

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 329 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 10 December 2014 - 11:54 AM

I've experienced this a few times also.  Restarting program remedied it.  I'll try chaining keyboards next time as Pchris suggests.



#9 Martin Zhang

Martin Zhang

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 10 December 2014 - 09:37 PM

Just happened to my computer.

I have an external monitor connected.

I was inputting the words, the drag down manu was still on.

I then dragged Accordance from the external monitor to Mac monitor. 

Accordance stopped accepting any keyboard input.

I could still paste words into the search bar, however, i was not able to delete it.

That confirmed that Accordance just stopped accepting input from keyboard.

 

Edit: I could copy from the text, and even click ⌘ + V to paste it into the search bar. However, I could not still delete anything from it.


Edited by Martin Zhang, 10 December 2014 - 09:38 PM.

Martin

Accordance v.11

Mac Yosemite (English, Chinese)

iPad iOS 8 (English, Chinese)

Win7 Home Premium (Chinese)

Accordance tutorials in Chinese.


#10 Randy Cue

Randy Cue

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plano, Illinois
  • Interests:Teaching adult Sunday School, baseball
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 12 December 2014 - 07:17 AM

I have had this problem as well. I can tell when it is going to happen by watching how many times the Accordance icon "bounces" on the dock when I open the program. If I get more than 3 or 4 "bounces" I have the problem.


Soli Deo Gloria

Randy

 

21.5 inch iMac (mid 2010)

OSX Yosemite 10.10


#11 Randy Cue

Randy Cue

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plano, Illinois
  • Interests:Teaching adult Sunday School, baseball
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 15 December 2014 - 07:14 AM

Any word on if this problem is being looked into?


Soli Deo Gloria

Randy

 

21.5 inch iMac (mid 2010)

OSX Yosemite 10.10


#12 Martin Zhang

Martin Zhang

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 15 December 2014 - 10:09 AM

Just happened again. 

This time, I opened Accordance, enter the 'full-screen' mood, and opened the help document to do some manu translation.

When I went back to Accordance to do some search, Accordance does not accept any input.


Martin

Accordance v.11

Mac Yosemite (English, Chinese)

iPad iOS 8 (English, Chinese)

Win7 Home Premium (Chinese)

Accordance tutorials in Chinese.


#13 Martin Zhang

Martin Zhang

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 16 December 2014 - 04:21 PM

this problem occurs more frequently recently, especially after I leave it open for a while without using it. Simply close the window and re-open a new one does not solve the problem. I have to quit the program and re-start.

 

Accordance also crashes randomly more frequently since I upgraded to Yosemite.


Martin

Accordance v.11

Mac Yosemite (English, Chinese)

iPad iOS 8 (English, Chinese)

Win7 Home Premium (Chinese)

Accordance tutorials in Chinese.


#14 Clayton W

Clayton W

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Palm Desert, CA
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Yesterday, 02:36 PM

I have experienced the same thing.  I'll have to give changing the keyboard layout a try the next time it happens.



#15 rtrickel

rtrickel

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, OH
  • Interests:Urban ministry, preaching/teaching, grandkids, motorcycles
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted Yesterday, 08:09 PM

I've been having the same issue - very sporadic, can't tell why or when it will happen.



#16 Kyle Campbell

Kyle Campbell

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lufkin, TX
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X

Posted Today, 08:11 AM

I'll add that it's been happening to me with 11.0.3 with Yosemite 10.10.1. There's nothing that I'm doing that I can tell to make it stop accepting keyboard input. Quitting and restarting the program always corrects it for a while.



#17 Julie Falling

Julie Falling

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,392 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Numerous!
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted Today, 08:37 AM

My husband has this happen, too, but I don't think he's updated to 11.0.3 yet.


Julia Falling

 

Accordance 11

MacBook Air Yosemite

mid-2013 1.7 GHz Intel Core i7 (2 cores)

8 GB RAM; 512 G SSD

 

Mac mini Yosemite Acc 11

late-2012 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 (4 cores)

16 GB RAM; 1.12  TB Fusion Drive

 

iPad Air 1 iOS 8.1

64 GB

 

 

 

 


#18 Randy Cue

Randy Cue

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plano, Illinois
  • Interests:Teaching adult Sunday School, baseball
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted Today, 09:17 AM

Still happening in 10.0.3


Soli Deo Gloria

Randy

 

21.5 inch iMac (mid 2010)

OSX Yosemite 10.10


#19 Fabian

Fabian

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:www.internetkirche.com
    www.iglesia-del-internet.com
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted Today, 10:08 AM

Hello 

 

I have this too, when I have the Library as popover. Open the Library and click in the Workspace zone, then the cursor goes away and then I have to close the Library to get the cursor back. 

 

But maybe not the same problem.

 

Greetings

 

fabian


Edited by Fabian, Today, 10:09 AM.

Mac Air (13-inch, Mid 2013)

1,3 GHz Intel Core i5

4GB Ram

 

Yosemite 10.10.1

Accordance 11.0.3

 

iPhone 4S

iOS 8.1.1


#20 Randy Cue

Randy Cue

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plano, Illinois
  • Interests:Teaching adult Sunday School, baseball
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted Today, 11:04 AM

Still happening in 10.0.3

Of course I meant it is till happening in 11.0.3  :rolleyes:


Soli Deo Gloria

Randy

 

21.5 inch iMac (mid 2010)

OSX Yosemite 10.10





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users