Jump to content


Photo

New, irritating, behavior in version 11.0.3

Cycle through tools

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Fr. Rich

Fr. Rich

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana
  • Interests:My grandchildren
    Bible study
    Adjusting to retirement
    Fly fishing
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 19 December 2014 - 04:42 PM

Prior to the current version, if I wished to follow up on a topic, I could click on the topic and open the first tool that had an entry. I could then cycle through all of my tools looking for entries by clicking 'control' and + If a tool had no entry, I could just keep going through the cycle. Now, each time I get a tool with no entry, I get a message that the topic is not found in the tool. I have to stop, tell the message to go away and then return to my cycle. This actually prolongs my cycling through the tools to the extent that using 'control' + is nearly worthless.


Rich Miller
Retired Priest
Christ the King Episcopal Church
Huntington, Indiana

 

Accordance 11.x running on Yosemite on MBP late 2014; iMac 25K retina display late 2014

Labor mediator and arbitrator


#2 Timothy Jenney

Timothy Jenney

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 1,667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sunny Winter Haven, FL
  • Interests:a good cup of coffee, sci-fi, playing bass, listing to jazz and the blues, camping, fishing and the great outdoors
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 19 December 2014 - 05:16 PM

There does seem to be some sort of change here.

 

Switching tools using (Cntrl++ or Cntrl+-) automatically places the word in the search field. If the word appears in the resource, the article appears without any further action. (No need to type Enter, for example.) If the results area remains blank, there is no article on that word. Typing Enter opens a dialog box, from which we can choose a word that does exist in the resource. Otherwise, we can just type Cntrl++ or Cntrl+- and continue working through our resources.

 

I suggest not typing Enter after switching tools. See if that eases your workflow.


Edited by Timothy Jenney, 19 December 2014 - 05:17 PM.

Blessings,
"Dr. J"

Timothy P. Jenney, Ph. D.
"Lighting the Lamp" Host and Producer

 

Mac: Early 2011 17" MBP (8,3), 2.3 GHz Quad core, 16 GB RAM, Mercury 6G 480 SSD + 1.5 TB HD, OSX 10.10, Yosemite

iPhone 6 plus 64 GB iOS 8.1


#3 dlrude

dlrude

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:AlmostHeaven, West Virginia
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Windows

Posted 19 December 2014 - 05:21 PM

I confess ignorance.

 

What is the ctrl++ ?

 

I have never read or heard about it.

 

I just tried it and nothing happened (windows).

 

Could you give me a step by step instruction written at the 2nd grade level on how to do it?

 

Thanks, Dave ( of grade 2)


Windows 7


#4 Fr. Rich

Fr. Rich

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana
  • Interests:My grandchildren
    Bible study
    Adjusting to retirement
    Fly fishing
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted Yesterday, 07:31 AM

I don't type enter. I just use the control ++ to cycle through the resources. This always worked fine before version 11.0.3. Now, my "cycling" is constantly interrupted by the announcement that there isn't anything in whatever resource.

Rich Miller
Retired Priest
Christ the King Episcopal Church
Huntington, Indiana

 

Accordance 11.x running on Yosemite on MBP late 2014; iMac 25K retina display late 2014

Labor mediator and arbitrator


#5 Timothy Jenney

Timothy Jenney

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 1,667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sunny Winter Haven, FL
  • Interests:a good cup of coffee, sci-fi, playing bass, listing to jazz and the blues, camping, fishing and the great outdoors
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted Yesterday, 07:35 AM

Once we triple-click and open a resource, we can move up or down through other resources in that category. Here's how:

 

Click in the tool pane (to make sure it is the active pane). Type Cntrl+ the plus sign (+) to move up through the category, Cntrl+the minus sign (-) to move down. Accordance will switch resources and repeat the search. This is a fast way to move through multiple resources.


Rich,

 

I'm not getting that behavior on my Mac. I'm not sure what to tell you. Perhaps someone else on the forum can help.


Edited by Timothy Jenney, Yesterday, 07:34 AM.

Blessings,
"Dr. J"

Timothy P. Jenney, Ph. D.
"Lighting the Lamp" Host and Producer

 

Mac: Early 2011 17" MBP (8,3), 2.3 GHz Quad core, 16 GB RAM, Mercury 6G 480 SSD + 1.5 TB HD, OSX 10.10, Yosemite

iPhone 6 plus 64 GB iOS 8.1


#6 Steve King

Steve King

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 429 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire, UK
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted Yesterday, 08:08 AM

I've noticed it when you have a reference as well so there are two items it is searching on. Probably something to do with the improved use of references.


Steve King Running Accordance 11.0.2 on:

Mac 10.9.5 (Mavericks), mid-2010 Macbook Pro, 4Gb RAM

IOS 8 (iPad 2 and iPhone 5)


#7 Timothy Jenney

Timothy Jenney

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 1,667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sunny Winter Haven, FL
  • Interests:a good cup of coffee, sci-fi, playing bass, listing to jazz and the blues, camping, fishing and the great outdoors
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted Yesterday, 08:12 AM

Interesting point, Steve. I don't have my preferences set to include reference when searching (Preferences>Amplify). I prefer to see more hits and sort through them myself.


Blessings,
"Dr. J"

Timothy P. Jenney, Ph. D.
"Lighting the Lamp" Host and Producer

 

Mac: Early 2011 17" MBP (8,3), 2.3 GHz Quad core, 16 GB RAM, Mercury 6G 480 SSD + 1.5 TB HD, OSX 10.10, Yosemite

iPhone 6 plus 64 GB iOS 8.1


#8 Lorinda H. M. Hoover

Lorinda H. M. Hoover

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,367 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Iowa
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted Yesterday, 08:46 AM

Dave, I'm not entirely sure what the Windows equivalent is of control-+.  Typically, keyboard shortcuts translate this way:

 

Command on Mac becomes Control (cntrl) on Windows

Option on Mac becomes Alt on Windows

 

Macs also have a control key, but I don't know if there is a Windows equivalent.


Running Accordance on:
Mac 10.10 (Yosemite)
iOS 7 (iPad)
Windows Vista Home Premium


#9 dlrude

dlrude

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:AlmostHeaven, West Virginia
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Windows

Posted Yesterday, 10:10 AM

Once we triple-click and open a resource, we can move up or down through other resources in that category. Here's how:

 

Click in the tool pane (to make sure it is the active pane). Type Cntrl+ the plus sign (+) to move up through the category, Cntrl+the minus sign (-) to move down. Accordance will switch resources and repeat the search. This is a fast way to move through multiple resources.


Rich,

 

I'm not getting that behavior on my Mac. I'm not sure what to tell you. Perhaps someone else on the forum can help.

ahh!

 

so cool thanks!

 

on my windows machine ctrl + (or -) merely changes the text size but alt + (or -) cycles thru the references


Dave, I'm not entirely sure what the Windows equivalent is of control-+.  Typically, keyboard shortcuts translate this way:

 

Command on Mac becomes Control (cntrl) on Windows

Option on Mac becomes Alt on Windows

 

Macs also have a control key, but I don't know if there is a Windows equivalent.

 

thanks Lorinda

 

on my windows machine ctrl + (or -) merely changes the text size but alt + (or -) cycles thru the references


Edited by dlrude, Yesterday, 03:07 PM.

Windows 7


#10 dlrude

dlrude

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:AlmostHeaven, West Virginia
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Windows

Posted Yesterday, 10:13 AM

btw on my windows 7 with 11.0.03 Accordance then if the reference has no entry for the search term the pane is merely blank, no warnings or messages


Windows 7


#11 Michael J. Bolesta

Michael J. Bolesta

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 707 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Addison TX
  • Interests:scripture study, preaching, teaching
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted Yesterday, 03:40 PM

Interesting point, Steve. I don't have my preferences set to include reference when searching (Preferences>Amplify). I prefer to see more hits and sort through them myself.

I did have it checked (was there by default at some point by upgrading), but was still able to cycle through my tools without interruption.


Michael
Accordance on Macintosh, iPhone, and iPad

#12 Mutien Chen

Mutien Chen

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted Today, 10:15 AM

It works to me by using "ctrl + up" "ctrl + down". Love this!
  • Dan Francis likes this

#13 Fr. Rich

Fr. Rich

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana
  • Interests:My grandchildren
    Bible study
    Adjusting to retirement
    Fly fishing
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted Today, 11:14 AM

When I checked the "include references" the unwanted behavior stopped. I'm not sure I understand why but at least I can cycle without interruption now.


Rich Miller
Retired Priest
Christ the King Episcopal Church
Huntington, Indiana

 

Accordance 11.x running on Yosemite on MBP late 2014; iMac 25K retina display late 2014

Labor mediator and arbitrator


#14 Michael J. Bolesta

Michael J. Bolesta

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 707 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Addison TX
  • Interests:scripture study, preaching, teaching
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted Today, 04:54 PM

I unchecked "include reference" and it still works for me.


Michael
Accordance on Macintosh, iPhone, and iPad

#15 Daniel Semler

Daniel Semler

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,698 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted Today, 04:57 PM

Dave, I'm not entirely sure what the Windows equivalent is of control-+.  Typically, keyboard shortcuts translate this way:

 

Command on Mac becomes Control (cntrl) on Windows

Option on Mac becomes Alt on Windows

 

Macs also have a control key, but I don't know if there is a Windows equivalent.

 

I'm pretty sure Mac's control key is the one for which there is no Windows equivalent.

 

Thx

D


Accordance Configurations :
 
Mac : 2009 27" iMac                 Windows : HP 4540s laptop
      Intel Core Duo                          Intel i5 Ivy Bridge
      12GB RAM                                8GB RAM
      Accordance 11.0.1                       Accordance 11.0.1
      OSX 10.9 (Mavericks)                    Win 7 Professional x64 SP1


#16 dlrude

dlrude

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:AlmostHeaven, West Virginia
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Windows

Posted Today, 05:04 PM

D,

 

I found that "alt+" worked , wow its a neat feature!

 

Dave


  • Timothy Jenney and Dan Francis like this

Windows 7


#17 dlrude

dlrude

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:AlmostHeaven, West Virginia
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Windows

Posted Today, 09:59 PM

It works fine for me most of the time.

 

Occasionally I do get a warning that the search item cannot be found.

 

However it seems that occurs when the search category has gotten changed from say "word" to "book" for example by the program.

 

When I change it back manually to whatever it had original been then it works fine for while then something changes it.

 

Apparently the search category gets manipulated by the code.

 

I still really like the feature but thought this info may be helpful.

 

Dave


Windows 7





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users