Jump to content


Photo

Adding a Bible translation to Accordance?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 techmate

techmate

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 07 June 2007 - 12:00 PM

Each week the pastor of our church hands out study guides for the current study we are going to be covering that day. They include his own literal translation, Interlinear, and Greek diagrams. I personally feel that his literal translation is an excellent english translation.

(You can view the study guides by visiting the website and clicking on one of the "Weekly Studies" like 1 John or 2 Timothy and you will see the "Download Study Guide" links. )

Eventually he will have the entire Bible translated. How would we go about adding something like this to Accordance?

#2 Robb Brunansky

Robb Brunansky

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 07 June 2007 - 01:45 PM

This used to be impossible, but with 7.2 you can easily import Bible translations. Look in the help files under "Doing your own thing" for a thorough and helpful summary of how to import his translations.

Edited by Robb Brunansky, 07 June 2007 - 01:45 PM.

Soli Deo Gloria,
Robb Brunansky

#3 techmate

techmate

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 07 June 2007 - 03:00 PM

This used to be impossible, but with 7.2 you can easily import Bible translations. Look in the help files under "Doing your own thing" for a thorough and helpful summary of how to import his translations.

Thank you. So basically, thats the import user tool option. Is that right?

#4 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,034 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 07 June 2007 - 04:03 PM

No, it's a new feature just for Bibles, but it will only import plain text, not diagrams or interlinear.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#5 Robb Brunansky

Robb Brunansky

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 07 June 2007 - 04:05 PM

It's actually under File->User Files->Import Bible Text... There is very specific formatting required. It is all documented quite nicely in the help files. As Helen noted, you can only import the Bible text itself, not the diagrams or inter-linear.
Soli Deo Gloria,
Robb Brunansky

#6 techmate

techmate

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 07 June 2007 - 04:25 PM

It's actually under File->User Files->Import Bible Text... There is very specific formatting required. It is all documented quite nicely in the help files. As Helen noted, you can only import the Bible text itself, not the diagrams or inter-linear.

Thank you both very much. Im going to test some of this out and see how it goes.

#7 techmate

techmate

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 09 June 2007 - 07:17 AM

Thanks again. I tried importing some of it to test. It went well. A few steps and its done. Very nice. :)

#8 countach

countach

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 June 2007 - 03:30 AM

Thanks again. I tried importing some of it to test. It went well. A few steps and its done. Very nice. :)


Does it have the full status of a built-in version in the software after it is done?

#9 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,034 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 10 June 2007 - 07:31 AM

Yes, user Bibles become full Accordance Bible texts, without, of course tagging or key numbers.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users