Jump to content


Photo

preventing "overwrite" of previous tool searches??


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 pclafferty

pclafferty

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dallas, TX
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 04 July 2007 - 07:51 AM

very basic question (I suppose). I will select a scripture text and then consult a reference tool for insight into that text. Sometimes, though, I will start a new tab within that workspace, select another text and then consult a reference tool (sometimes the same reference tool from the first search, sometimes not). Unfortunately, the first reference tool search gets "overwritten" by the second reference tool search. Is there a setting i can toggle that will allow every reference tool search to show up in a new pane?

does my question make sense?

#2 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,497 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 04 July 2007 - 08:16 AM

There is no default to turn off the "recycling" which applies whenever you open a window by "amplifying" from a selection in another window. However, it is easy to turn it off in any window: simply click the recycle symbol above the History pop-up menu, or select Window menu/Set/Recycle Contents, or press command-K.

Recycling is designed to avoid the clutter of opening a new window every time you look something up. We give you full control over this for each window. I do not think it would be a good idea to turn it off globally.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#3 pclafferty

pclafferty

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dallas, TX
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 04 July 2007 - 03:01 PM

oh, this is wonderful...thank you! I confess I've always wanted to know what that green set of arrows referred to. Now I know. again, thanks!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users