Jump to content


Photo

Accordance Slow Down


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Tom Castle

Tom Castle

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jacksonville, Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 22 August 2007 - 09:30 PM

Hey Helen and gang...
For some reason, Accordance has slowed to a snails pace. I have done all the standard things like repair permissions, restart, etc. However, Accordance (and only Accordance) is running REALLY slow.

For example, just opening to a standard workspace and scrolling through bible text seems to be taxing the system. It spits and stutters and I get the sbbod.

I opened Activity Monitor and noticed that simply for scrolling Accordance is jumping up to 99% when trying to scroll.

I am sitting here typing this in Safari and Activity Monitor is showing Accordance at ~73% and its not even the primary window.

Any ideas??

Edit: When I click on the Workspace window, Activity Monitor shows usage drops to < 1%... unless I try to scroll or open another module. Then, up to 99%. If I click onto Safari or Activity Monitor or even the Desktop, Accordance goes up to and hovers around 73%. Something is definately not right. I appreciate any help to correct this.

Edited by Tom Castle, 22 August 2007 - 09:37 PM.

In HIS Eternal Service,
Tom Castle
**If we will do God's work, in God's way, at God's time, with God's power, we shall have God's blessings!!**

#2 Tom Castle

Tom Castle

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jacksonville, Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 23 August 2007 - 06:15 AM

Anyone? :(
In HIS Eternal Service,
Tom Castle
**If we will do God's work, in God's way, at God's time, with God's power, we shall have God's blessings!!**

#3 Charles Stock

Charles Stock

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 23 August 2007 - 03:39 PM

Do you have a copy of Disk Warrior?

#4 Tom Castle

Tom Castle

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jacksonville, Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 23 August 2007 - 08:28 PM

Do you have a copy of Disk Warrior?


Nope. I'm not sure what I'd need a disk repair utility for. Everything else is running perfectly. Perhaps you can explain what I'd need it for? But thanks for at least responding to my problem.

And I can't understand why I can't get technical support on the program??? Thats just a little discouraging.

Edited by Tom Castle, 23 August 2007 - 08:34 PM.

In HIS Eternal Service,
Tom Castle
**If we will do God's work, in God's way, at God's time, with God's power, we shall have God's blessings!!**

#5 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,497 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 24 August 2007 - 12:24 AM

Tom:

I'm sorry, I just have no idea what's happening and am hoping that others with more technical expertise will come to your rescue.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#6 Charles Stock

Charles Stock

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 24 August 2007 - 05:26 AM

[quote name='Tom Castle' date='Aug 23 2007, 09:28 PM' post='6536']
Nope. I'm not sure what I'd need a disk repair utility for. Everything else is running perfectly. Perhaps you can explain what I'd need it for? But thanks for at least responding to my problem.

An explanation of my initial question:

I'm not an IT guy, but I would hazard a guess that there may be some corruption in a process (maybe permissions or preferencess) that is only affecting Accordance. That may be why it is chewing up so much of your CPU capacity. Your other programs are doing fine.

I'm not trying to sell DW, but have found in my own experience and the experience of others who maintain quite a few Macs in remote mission bases that DW sort of cleans up that kind of thing and keeps things in a more "like new" condition.

It seems like you might also try removing and reinstalling some portion of the Accordance program itself.

#7 Alistair

Alistair

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 610 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 24 August 2007 - 07:14 AM

My Accordance is running slow too, maybe not snail's pace but perceptibly slower than previously.
Especially noticable on startup and during searches. Scrolling is jerky.
Is this related to the fact that it is running on an Intel chip but isn't a UB?
On a 2.4GHz with 2GB RAM running 10.4.10 I would have expected increased performance, even using Rosetta.
NB My modules folder is 2.82GB.

#8 David Lang

David Lang

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 764 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mount Dora, FL
  • Interests:Accordance development, writing, spending time with my wife and five kids
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 24 August 2007 - 09:57 AM

Tom,

I'm stumped as well, and like Helen, was waiting for someone more knowledgeable to reply. I'm not sure if this will help, but you might try removing all of your Preferences from your User Folder-->Library-->Preferences. Just drag the whole folder to the desktop and then try launching Accordance again. A fresh set of preferences will be created, and if the slowness is eliminated, you'll know the problem was the result of a corrupted Preference file.

I'm afraid that's my best guess.
Sincerely,
David Lang
Accordance Developer
http://www.accordancebible.com

Author:
Feet to Follow, Eyes to See
http://feettofollow.wordpress.com

Macs in the Ministry
http://www.macsinministrybook.com

Leader of the "Lang Gang"
http://www.langgangland.com
http://twitter.com/DavidAllenLang

#9 Mick Matousek

Mick Matousek

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 24 August 2007 - 02:20 PM

I'd follow Apple's recommendations Mac OS X: How to troubleshoot a software issue.

#10 Lorinda H. M. Hoover

Lorinda H. M. Hoover

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,367 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Iowa
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 24 August 2007 - 04:26 PM

If this issue had been raised the in NeoOffice forums, I would have suggested taking a sample of the application's process in the Activity Monitor app. But this presumes that the data produced would be helpful to the developers. With NeoOffice, the developers are often able to identify problems with the sample; but I don't know if it would be of use to the folks at Oak Tree. If would be, I can walk you through the process of getting a sample.

Lorinda

Running Accordance on:
Mac 10.10 (Yosemite)
iOS 7 (iPad)
Windows Vista Home Premium


#11 Tom Castle

Tom Castle

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jacksonville, Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 24 August 2007 - 11:00 PM

Hello everyone. Thanks for the input and suggestions. It seems that the problem was two-fold. I had installed a program that allowed me to make the top menu bar disappear... giving me another quarter inch on my 15" MBP screen. Apparently, this program created a major conflict with some preferences in Accordance. I had to both delete the program and delete the preferences files of Accordance.

Now, my Activity Monitor drops back to zero when I go to another program from Accordance and the speed is once again simply incredible.

Edit: A special thanks to Helen. He was very helpful and the reason this is corrected.

Edited by Tom Castle, 24 August 2007 - 11:03 PM.

In HIS Eternal Service,
Tom Castle
**If we will do God's work, in God's way, at God's time, with God's power, we shall have God's blessings!!**

#12 Greg Ward

Greg Ward

    Member

  • Accordance
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 26 August 2007 - 01:04 PM

Sorry for my delay in responding, and I'm glad you figured out what the problem is, but allow me a couple of general observations. Tom is right, something else (permissions, corrupted preferences, or in this case a conflict with another program too), can be the cause of a particular program exhibiting problems. Often times a particular program can inexplicably exhibit symptoms of a deeper system issue. For example I have some odd behavior going on in Mail that I am quite sure are a result of some sort of system problem, but that's another story.

The suggestiong to run Disk Warrior is in my experience an excellent one. If you don't have Disk Warrior, I might suggest two other options. One is to use Apple's Disk Utility to repair things. The second is to use an excellent freeware application called Onyx, which runs a number of command line Unix scripts to do basic maintenance of OSX. This can solve all sorts of odd behavior, including ownership and permissions issues, cache issues (there are a lot of caches in OSX), etc. FYI, all three of these programs do some different things, although there is some overlap, they don't substitute for each other.

Greg




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users