#1 Sean R.

Sean R.

Gold

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 04 April 2008 - 05:45 AM

I'm a young pastor just beginning full-time ministry. I want to begin building a library of Bible study resources that will serve me for the rest of my ministry—30, 40, maybe even 50 years. While I understand that expecting a software resource to be around for 50 years is a bit naive, I do want to make a wise investment that will serve me for as long as possible.

My question is this: Can I expect Accordance to be around for the long haul?

My question isn't prompted by the Logos development of an OS X version—after checking Logos out, I can't imagine it obliterating Accordance. Accordance is so elegant, useful, intuitive, etc.—very Mac-like—and Logos isn't. And I understand Accordance has already been around for quite some time—nearly the entire time Bible study software has existed. If I understand correctly, however, Accordance is essentially a family company.

I suppose my real question is this: Is there a continuance plan for prolonged Accordance development by a second generation of programmers?

I want to invest in Accordance, and appreciate the coming responses to my questions.

God bless,
Sean
Sean Reed

#2 Jim Poulos

Jim Poulos

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 08:28 AM

Jean,

I heard this story in a sermon and thought it might put some perspective on your concerns.

Two men were talking. One said to the other, ‘The world is going to be destroyed in 20 billions years.’ The other man started to get very anxious and wanted to get clear on what the first man said and impatiently asked him, ‘What did you say?’ The first man said, ‘I said the world is going to be destroyed in 20 billion years.’ The other man was relieved and said, ‘Whew, you had me worried, I thought you said, 20 million years.’

Peace
Jim P

Edited by Jim Poulos, 04 April 2008 - 08:45 AM.

#3 David Lang

David Lang

Platinum