Jump to content


Photo

FUZZY Command Shortcut


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 dgzylstra

dgzylstra

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oshawa, ON
  • Interests:Music (especially Canadian independent rock). Computers, comic books, my kids, my wife (this is obviously not in order of importance), reading, etc....
  • Accordance Version:8.x

Posted 24 June 2008 - 08:36 AM

Hello, All!

For some reason I can't seem to get the "Fuzzy Command Shortcut" listed in the latest Newsletter to work!

Details:
I open a search window, and enter my text (Ex. 20). I see the phrase, "I am the Lord your God," in the text and I want to do a FUZZY search to see how many times a similar phrase occurs in the Bible and where. I select the phrase, bring my mouse over to the resource palette and, while holding down the "SHIFT" key I click on the "magnifying glass" icon (which is the "search button", right?). A new window opens with the results of my search, but it doesn't appear to have done a "FUZZY" search, just a normal one with the exact phrase. Any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks for your help!

Dan.

#2 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,267 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 24 June 2008 - 08:54 AM

When I repeat what you describe, my search argument becomes: [FUZZY 2] I am the Lord your God. So it is working for me.

You do have version 8.0.2? The Bible module was not created pre 2000 (certain new features do not work on really old modules)?
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#3 dgzylstra

dgzylstra

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oshawa, ON
  • Interests:Music (especially Canadian independent rock). Computers, comic books, my kids, my wife (this is obviously not in order of importance), reading, etc....
  • Accordance Version:8.x

Posted 24 June 2008 - 10:22 AM

When I repeat what you describe, my search argument becomes: [FUZZY 2] I am the Lord your God. So it is working for me.

You do have version 8.0.2? The Bible module was not created pre 2000 (certain new features do not work on really old modules)?


It turns out that I'm working with 8.0. I'm downloading 8.0.2 right now. I only started working with Accordance with version 6, though, so I wouldn't imagine that my Bible modules are pre 2000....

I'll re-post once I've installed the program updates...

Thanks for your help so far, Helen.

#4 dgzylstra

dgzylstra

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oshawa, ON
  • Interests:Music (especially Canadian independent rock). Computers, comic books, my kids, my wife (this is obviously not in order of importance), reading, etc....
  • Accordance Version:8.x

Posted 24 June 2008 - 10:46 AM

All right, so I've updated to 8.0.2, and I've made sure that my Bible modules are as up-to-date as they can be (being from Library 7, most of them), but when I highlight the phrase I want from the text and shift-click on the search button, I still get a regular search...

Here are some screenshots that may or may not be helpful...

#5 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,267 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 24 June 2008 - 12:51 PM

You seem to be doing everything right, yet I cannot reproduce the problem. You are continuing to press shift as you click on Search? I could share your screen via iChat and try to figure it out, if you send me your screen name.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#6 Tom

Tom

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 24 June 2008 - 01:17 PM

I could share your screen via iChat and try to figure it out, if you send me your screen name.



Oh the beauty of OS 10.5! Troubleshooting via iChat. How sweet! What other software company would do that for ya?!

Tom
B.S. (Education, Bryan College)
Th.M. (Systematic Theology, Dallas Seminary)
M.A., Ph.D. (Classical Philosophy, University of Dallas)
Pastor/Teacher

#7 dgzylstra

dgzylstra

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oshawa, ON
  • Interests:Music (especially Canadian independent rock). Computers, comic books, my kids, my wife (this is obviously not in order of importance), reading, etc....
  • Accordance Version:8.x

Posted 24 June 2008 - 01:21 PM

Thanks, Helen!

I've sent my screen name to your Accordance email address. I appreciate this very much!

Dan.

#8 dgzylstra

dgzylstra

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oshawa, ON
  • Interests:Music (especially Canadian independent rock). Computers, comic books, my kids, my wife (this is obviously not in order of importance), reading, etc....
  • Accordance Version:8.x

Posted 24 June 2008 - 02:07 PM

Thanks, Helen!

It turns out that Helen spent a bunch of time screen sharing with me and was able to determine that it was one of my "Login Items" that was conflicting with the Accordance shortcuts.

I went on to narrow down which particular one it was--turns out that a little program called "SofaControl" (which is a nice little utility expanding the functionality of the apple remote). I'm not sure how, but SofaControl somehow interferes with using the "Option" and "Shift" keys as modifiers in Accordance. I'm not sure, at this point whether or not SofaControl interferes with other programs use of those keys as modifiers as well. I'm also pretty sure that I don't understand what's going on either.

What I am sure about is that Helen and the others really helped me out a lot! Thanks!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users