#1 Tom

Tom

Silver

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 05 November 2008 - 01:16 PM

I want to buy Grudem's Systematic Theology, I really do. Especially while it is on sale. But I am wondering if I wouldn’t use it more in print form ($30)? Could someone give me their best reasons one might use this with their Accordance study? Seems to me a massive theological volume like this wouldn't have too many side-by-side usages with passages of scripture like a commentary would have. Wouldn't it be easier to find and read a topic from the printed version by looking it up in the index and reading long paragraphs from the printed page? Perhaps I am missing something, and in a way I hope I am. That is why I am asking this question. Are the scripture references in this resource hyperlinked? Or topics or major headings that link to scripture passages? As a Pastor, I would like to use this resource as I study a particular passage in scripture and be able to easily see where Grudem is using any of these verses in another pane. Can I do this?

O.K., help me out on this. I want to spend the $40 and I think I can come up with it. But in this case I am thinking the hard copy might be the best form for this resource and save me $10 to boot.

Please convince me otherwise.
Tom
B.S. (Education, Bryan College)
Th.M. (Systematic Theology, Dallas Seminary)
M.A., Ph.D. (Classical Philosophy, University of Dallas)
Pastor/Teacher

#2 Charles Stock

Charles Stock

Silver

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 05 November 2008 - 04:21 PM

Tom,

I have used the printed version, but purchased the Accordance module.

I want to buy Grudem's Systematic Theology, I really do. Especially while it is on sale. But I am wondering if I wouldn’t use it more in print form ($30)? Could someone give me their best reasons one might use this with their Accordance study?