9 replies to this topic

#1 Meg

Meg

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 01 August 2011 - 12:29 PM

I'm still learning how to do this, so I hope I'm posting in the right place. Doing a Hebrew search for ish + 3rd. fem. sing. suffix, "her man".

Under the Search menu I choose Enter Lexical Form and choose "ish"
Under the Search menu I choose Enter Tag --> Suffix, and chose 3rd person, fem, sing

Accordance automatically inserts the @ sign between the two elements.

I click the search button and get this message: ' There are no verses in the current range of the "BHS-W4 text, which fit the current search entry.'

I click OK, and after a lot of trial and error, I remove the @ and leave a SPACE between the 2 elements and the search finds what I am looking for -- 39 hits.

I've been reading the manuals and watching the videos until I am crosseyed and everything says I need the @ symbol here. What am I doing wrong? How do I know when to remove the @ sign?

Thanks,
Meg

#2 David Knoll

David Knoll

Silver

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 01 August 2011 - 01:28 PM

I think that you don't need the @. The @ is used for attributes of the same element. Here you have two separate elements: The noun and the possesive pronoun.
I still wonder why Accordance adds the @ when you insert the suffix tag. Maybe someone else can clarify.

#3 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

Mithril

• Admin
  • 8,027 posts

Posted 01 August 2011 - 03:33 PM

Usually when people enter a word followed by a tag they do want them to apply to the same item, this is why Accordance adds the @. David is correct that you just need to delete it in the cases where you are effectively looking for a phrase.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#4 Joel Brown

Joel Brown

Administrator

• Admin
  • 2,512 posts

Posted 01 August 2011 - 03:42 PM