#1 Donovan R. Palmer

Donovan R. Palmer

Silver

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:23 PM

I asked this question of sales, but I thought I would also throw it out here to see what people would suggest...

In 2013 I will be formally taking Greek at a University that I am studying at part time. I have studied Greek on my own over the years using resources on the web and another Bible program. My plan is to do this course and then in 2014 or maybe 2015 taking second level Greek. The course uses Mounce's BBG, which I already own in Accordance and I know I will want to buy BDAG, NIDNTT, LSJ and TDNT.

I wondered if you fellow Accordianites could recommend anything else I should consider for studying Greek 1/2 and setting up for a lifetime of Greek studies in Accordance. While budget is important, at this stage I would like to set up for what is ideal as this will form part of my permanent resource library. If I can't afford it, I'll set some priorities... so ideal is what I am looking for.

#2 James Tucker

James Tucker

Platinum

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 644 posts

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:47 PM

You need to read the language a lot, but also learn to hear the language. So I would recommend Spiros Zohdhiates reading of NA26th with modern Greek pronunciation. If you want proficiency, which I assume you do since you are taking a class, then you need to engage the language with all your senses. In addition, start a page on ΣΧΟΛΗ and use Greek for communication. Force yourself to think Greek!

Neither of these are Accordance offerings, but if you want to master Greek you will need to learn Greek as a language, not a code.
  • Abram K-J likes this

#3 Mark Nigro

Mark Nigro

Gold

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 244 posts
  • Interests:Theology, biblical and modern languages, motorcycles, classical guitar, technology
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:51 PM