The following happens when I select an existing highlights file then make it a permanent pallet by clicking the top right hand icon.
If I define a new highlight for it then that highlight is not shown. It will only be shown if I exit then select highlight again. If I delete an existing highlight it still shows it. It allows me to use it but actually uses a still existing one rather than the deleted one.