Jump to content


Photo

Changing default dictionary


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Ryan Gustason

Ryan Gustason

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 01 March 2013 - 11:58 AM

Newbie question.

 

How do I change the default dictionary / lexicon when I triple click a word in the KJV bible?  Right now it pulls up Strongs, and I'd like to change it to KM Hebrew Dictionary.

 

Thanks,

Ryan



#2 luoar

luoar

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 01 March 2013 - 12:06 PM

You hold down the SHIFT key while you click. 


Edited by luoar, 01 March 2013 - 12:09 PM.


#3 Michael J. Bolesta

Michael J. Bolesta

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 678 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Addison TX
  • Interests:scripture study, preaching, teaching
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 01 March 2013 - 12:56 PM

Go to your library window, and under Hebrew tools, drag KM Hebrew to the top of the list. The first tool (top) is your default. Actually I think if KM is listed before Hebrew Strong's, it will open KM preferentially. Accordance goes to the first appropriate resource in the list.


  • Ryan Gustason likes this

Michael


#4 Ryan Gustason

Ryan Gustason

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 01 March 2013 - 01:43 PM

Thanks!



#5 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,084 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 01 March 2013 - 01:53 PM

Sorry, Michael, but the Key number texts do go to specific dictionaries with a triple-click. The top lexicon is used for original language words, but the Key number texts go to their respective dictionaries: KJVS to Strong's, NAS95S to the NAS Greek and Hebrew, old NIV-G/K to the NIV Greek and Hebrew, and all the others now go to the Mounce Greek and KM Hebrew.

 

However, you can indeed select any word, press shift, and amplify to your desired resource in the Library.


Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#6 Michael J. Bolesta

Michael J. Bolesta

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 678 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Addison TX
  • Interests:scripture study, preaching, teaching
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 01 March 2013 - 02:05 PM

Sorry, Michael, but the Key number texts do go to specific dictionaries with a triple-click. The top lexicon is used for original language words, but the Key number texts go to their respective dictionaries: KJVS to Strong's, NAS95S to the NAS Greek and Hebrew, old NIV-G/K to the NIV Greek and Hebrew, and all the others now go to the Mounce Greek and KM Hebrew.

 

However, you can indeed select any word, press shift, and amplify to your desired resource in the Library.

 

When I press shift and triple click on a word in KJVS, it amplifies to Anchor (top of English tools folder). It does not give a list of options. What am I missing.


Michael


#7 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,084 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 01 March 2013 - 02:09 PM

You amplify to the dictionary of your choice in the Library tab. Each module now has an amplify icon when you mouse over it, and you have a selection in a text pane.


Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#8 Michael J. Bolesta

Michael J. Bolesta

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 678 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Addison TX
  • Interests:scripture study, preaching, teaching
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 01 March 2013 - 02:12 PM

You amplify to the dictionary of your choice in the Library tab. Each module now has an amplify icon when you mouse over it, and you have a selection in a text pane.

 

So where does the shift key come in?


Michael


#9 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,084 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 02 March 2013 - 03:15 AM

My bad, this key modifier didn't change in 10: simple amplify looks up the English word, pressing option looks up the original word in the tool you choose in the Library.

 

Pressing shift on triple-click looks up the English word in the top English dictionary.


Helen Brown
OakTree Software




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users