Jump to content


Photo

Upgrade to ESVS 3.2 fails

Module ESVS

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Daniel Saunders

Daniel Saunders

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 07 March 2013 - 06:07 PM

Hi,

 

I clicked on 'Check for Content Updates' recently and noticed an upgrade from ESVS 3.1 to 3.2. However, when I try to upgrade I get the error message 'The file "ESVS" is no longer available to Accordance.' (See attached). When I restart Accordance, ESVS is still available, though still at version 3.1

 

I'm running 10.1.4 from the App Store. 

Attached Files



#2 Michael J. Bolesta

Michael J. Bolesta

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 707 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Addison TX
  • Interests:scripture study, preaching, teaching
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 07 March 2013 - 06:33 PM

You might try removing the ESVS from your library and then run Easy Install.


Michael
Accordance on Macintosh, iPhone, and iPad

#3 Ken Simpson

Ken Simpson

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 1,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Interests:Astronomy
    Archaeology
    Physics
    Hebrew and Greek
    Papyrology
    Orthopædic Surgery
    Yosemite 10.10.1
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 07 March 2013 - 07:43 PM

Thanks Michael, that solution should work. I have had the same problem over the last couple of days that tech support had to advise me how to fix. All seems well now.

 

It actually happened to six of my modules - they are in the new .atool and .atext format.


Regards
Ken
Lead Australian Accordance Demonstrator

Administrator, Accordance Exchange

Assistant Minister, Summer Hill Church


#4 Daniel Saunders

Daniel Saunders

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 08 March 2013 - 08:15 AM

Did the trick. Thanks Michael.

 

For others who find this thread ...

To remove a module from the Library.

  1. Make sure the module isn't in use anywhere (might be easiest to close all your workspaces, and then open one with a single module)
  2. Open the 'Library' window (Window->Library)
  3. Find the module in the library, and CMD+Delete to delete.
  4. Then open 'easy install' (Accordance->Easy Install) to reinstall the module.


#5 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 08 March 2013 - 10:01 AM

Daniel,

 

Sorry for the problems with the updated modules!

 

There is a conflict between the included module (ESVS v3.1) and the updated module (ESVS.atext v3.2).  Accordance will reinstall the included module (v3.1) every time you relaunch Accordance and the updated module will show up in the Check for Content Updates dialog. This should be true for IVP-NB too.

 

For now, I would ignore the minor updates to these modules and do not attempt to update them in the Check for Content Updates dialog.

 

We just had this reported yesterday and we will have to upload a new version to fix the problem. We are starting to test 10.1.5 and it should be available in a few weeks.

 

Again, sorry for the troubles,

Mike


Edited by Mike Garrity, 08 March 2013 - 10:02 AM.


#6 James Taylor

James Taylor

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 27 July 2013 - 06:03 PM

I'm suddenly having trouble with several modules.  Was there a fix for this?



#7 James Taylor

James Taylor

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 27 July 2013 - 06:15 PM

It's telling me I have 22 texts missing?



Removed the ESVS and it reinstalled fine.  Will I need to do this with the other 21 texts?



#8 James Taylor

James Taylor

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 27 July 2013 - 06:17 PM

Also removed St. Patrick & E.M. Bounds.  Accordance now says they need to be updated, but when I try, I get an error "I/O Error #0 in the file "St. Patrick.atool"

 

What does that mean?

 

JT 



#9 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 28 July 2013 - 08:48 AM

Hi James,

 

Are you running the Mac App Store version of Accordance? If so, what version number?(10.1.7 is the latest MAS version)

 

Mike



#10 James Taylor

James Taylor

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 28 July 2013 - 09:09 AM

Mike,

 

Yes, I'm running 10.1.7 from the Mac App Store.  Running OS X 10.8.4.

 

JT



#11 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 28 July 2013 - 10:11 AM

James,

 

Sorry for your troubles!

 

The ESVS and IVP-NB problem (in post #5 above) should have been addressed in 10.1.5. 

 

It's telling me I have 22 texts missing?

 

You should be able to install your modules with Easy Install without removing them from the Library first. Let us know if that works.

 

 

 

Also removed St. Patrick & E.M. Bounds.  Accordance now says they need to be updated, but when I try, I get an error "I/O Error #0 in the file "St. Patrick.atool"

 

What does that mean?

 

So you removed this module from the Library and ran Easy Install to install it?

 

 This looks like a bug in Accordance when dealing with the name of this module. I will need to investigate this bug.

 

In the meantime, to try to work around this apparent bug:

  • remove this module from your Library in Accordance
  • In the Finder Menu Bar, choose Go > Go to Folder…  Enter ~/Library/Containers/com.OakTree.MAS.Accordance/Data/Library/Application Support/com.OakTree.MAS.Accordance/Modules/Tools in the dialog.
  • delete the actual St.Patrick.atool file
  • run Easy Install to install this module

 

 

Let us know if this work around solves the problem with St. Patrick & E.M. Bounds,

 

Mike


Edited by Mike Garrity, 28 July 2013 - 10:13 AM.


#12 James Taylor

James Taylor

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 28 July 2013 - 03:09 PM

"You should be able to install your modules with Easy Install without removing them from the Library first. Let us know if that works."

 

No, it doesn't work.  Accordance shows the modules as there.  But when you click on them I get the error.  If I try to install from Easy Install it doesn't show that they need to be installed?  No option to install?

 

"~/Library/Containers/com.OakTree.MAS.Accordance/Data/Library/Application Support/com.OakTree.MAS.Accordance/Modules/Tools"

 

So my computer seems to have them installed at:

 

Library/Containers/com.OakTree.MAS.Accordance/Data/Library/Application Support/Accordance/Modules/Tools

 

Does that make a difference?  Should they be in the other location you listed?

 

Also, There are several files:

 

St. Patrick

St. Patrick.atool

E. M. Bounds

E. M. Bounds.atool

 

Do I delete all four or just the two  .atool files?

 

JT



#13 James Taylor

James Taylor

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 28 July 2013 - 03:13 PM

Just tried to remove all four files.  Launched Accordance and Easy Install.  It said I could download and install them.  However, when it went to install it gave me the error again.

 

JT



#14 Mike Garrity

Mike Garrity

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 29 July 2013 - 07:18 AM

James,

 

"~/Library/Containers/com.OakTree.MAS.Accordance/Data/Library/Application Support/com.OakTree.MAS.Accordance/Modules/Tools"

 

So my computer seems to have them installed at:

 

Library/Containers/com.OakTree.MAS.Accordance/Data/Library/Application Support/Accordance/Modules/Tools

 

Does that make a difference?  Should they be in the other location you listed?

 

No, Accordance will treat these folders the same, I just gave the first one because it is the most popular. Most likely your Application Support folder is named Accordance because you upgraded from version 9 of the non Mac App Store Accordance.  

 

 

 

 

Just tried to remove all four files.  Launched Accordance and Easy Install.  It said I could download and install them.  However, when it went to install it gave me the error again.

 

This appears to be a bug in version 10.1.7.

 

Just to be clear, you are having trouble installing two tools with periods in thier name? (all other modules work).

 

I am working on submitting version 10.2.x to the Mac App Store, but we need to make sure this bug is fixed.

 

 

Sorry for the hassles and thank you for reporting the problems!

Mike



#15 James Taylor

James Taylor

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 29 July 2013 - 08:21 PM

Mike,

 

I still have 21 tools that are not working.  The first two I removed just happened to have periods in the name.  Do I need to manually remove the other 21 and try again?

 

JT



#16 Jonathan C. Borland

Jonathan C. Borland

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 31 July 2013 - 03:10 AM

FWIW, I had the same problem as James. I eventually just re-installed the two modules from a backup.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Module, ESVS

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users