I discovered this by accident while trying something on Win. It turns out that Ctrl-\ on win and Cmd-\ on Mac close the current workspace. I can't see if this is doc'd anywhere. Its not under the Workspace Shortcuts doc. But it certainly seems intentional. If this is expected I can log a doc correction in the usual way. If its a bug its certainly a helpful one now I know its there.