Is there a way to do tables in User Notes/Tools? Or insert a PDF?

Bret Hicks

I am fairly new to Accordance's user notes and user tools features.  I am actually slowly pulling in old study notes from Word and Pages documents in to user notes and tools.  As I was working on 1 John 1:5-2:2, I came across a table I had made of the possible wrong responses to sin, and the corresponding corrective given by John.  This leads to a couple of questions?

1.  Is there a way to create tables in user notes or tools?  

2.  If not, can I paste in a PDF into a user note or tool?

3.  If not, can I put in a link to an external PDF or other document within a user note or tool?

Thanks.

In Christ,

Bret

• Like 1

I recommend composing tables in a word processor or spreadsheet, not Accordance. Even our full time developers find tables a headache. Save those tables in a File within your Documents>Accordance FIles and link to them.

Right now only User Tools will permit links to a file on a local drive or a URL. Check the Instructions in the Accordance Help for specifics.

Dr. J.,

Thanks.  Is there any plan to allow external links like that from user notes?  It seems somewhat silly for me to have to put a note in my user notes (commentary) saying, go to this user tool, which consists of a link to a PDF file of the table.  Are there plans to allow these in future versions of the notes?

In Christ,

Bret

I agree, Bret.

Actually, this feature is on a list of improvements we'd like to add to User Notes (along with a few others!), but I don't know when it will be implemented.

• Like 1

I recommend composing tables in a word processor or spreadsheet, not Accordance. Even our full time developers find tables a headache. Save those tables in a File within your Documents>Accordance FIles and link to them.