User Notes Across Different Texts....?

timothylfox

Hi everyone,

Thanks for your help and patience toward me! I'm new to the User Notes feature and am having a bit of a hard time. I've taken a bunch of notes in the Charlesworth Pseudepigrapha modules. Now I've made a note in the Philo module. However, once I've done that, my user notes file (as accessed through the library) gets a bit strange, in that the "notes order" only allows me to order them according to the various pseudepigrapha modules. Is there a way to display all notes from all modules in one window? Or do I need to have a notes file for every distinct set of modules (i.e., one for OT, one for NT, one for Philo, one for Pseudepigrapha, etc.)?

Thanks!

Tim

PS See attached screenshot of my odd notes order:

post-31668-0-12377800-1436443208_thumb.png

One of the advantages of the new User Notes is that they span multiple texts and tools. Nevertheless, they remain User Notes, which means they are organized canonically: text (or tool), book, chapter, verse.

If you open you Note in a parallel pane, it will only address the text in the main pane.

If you open it directly from the Library (in its own tab or zone), it will display all your comments for very text and tool.

I hope this answers your question.

Dear Dr. J,

Thanks for this — I now see how I can directly open the notes for whichever text/tool I have open. However, I still can't see how to organize the notes' left-hand column according to different "canons"—how do I get it back to displaying each text from the Pseudepigrapha? Since adding the Philo notes, that left-hand column now gives a bunch of strange titles for the Pseudepigrapha notes, esp. ones like "Other" and "Philo Other." (as in the screenshot posted above.) It does this even when I start out from a Pseudepigrapha tab. 

Thanks!

Tim

Sorry, Tim, I'm out of my depth here.

I haven't taken notes on Pseud. or Philo texts. The "other" really has me confused, too.