Searching for absolute uses of עשה

Susan

I’m new to the syntax modules and still having trouble figuring out the basics. I’m pretty sure this is simple, but it would help me if somebody could show me how to set this up.

I would like to find all instances of the “absolute” use of qal perfect עשה, i.e. without either direct object or adverbial complement. (The question arose by analogy to Ps 22:32.) In the construct pane, I attempted to search for this lexeme (with inflection restrictions) as predicate and  a negated “complement” and “adjunct” within the same phrase, but this is finding many that do have complements (some null and others explicit).

Looking through the results from this search makes me think I may be missing some basic understanding of how the syntax is organized (or about how grammar works...), though. Why is it that in Psalm 22:32 there is a null complement included, but Ps 52:11 (another example of the sort of thing I’m looking for), there is no complement at all? 

Ps 22:32:

post-33003-0-12360200-1441334678_thumb.jpg

Ps 52:11:

post-33003-0-92444600-1441336724_thumb.jpg

Here is one of the ways I was trying it:

post-33003-0-31658000-1441336241_thumb.jpg

Thanks!

Edited by Susan

Hi Susan,

I've played with this and am puzzled too. I think it's related to the P-C structures and the relative levels but I cannot make that theory into a solution. Anyhow, real reason I'm posting : have you read http://www.accordancebible.com/content/common/common.download_file.php?action_special=download_file&sid=d4ada55614b7a60711724804f54228d8&download_file_path=files/documents/117501.pdf&download_file_title=Getting+Started+with+Syntax.pdf ?

If you haven't you'll probably want to.

thx

D

Susan,

That's an interesting search.  The syntax is getting a significant overhaul for the next release of Accordance, so I encourage waiting for that. It will have more flexible searching and more accurate results.