Prospective Buyer Soliciting Advice: Primary Interest -- Original Languages

JohnABarnett

I am investigating the purchase of a premium Bible software program for Windows 10 primarily for use with original languages. While looking only at Logos 6 vs. Bibleworks 10 and reading everything about these alternatives that I could find on the web, I kept running into mentions of Accordance, so now I am looking at this as well.

I was VERY pleased that I could download a demo version to get an idea how things looked and worked. I was also VERY pleased with the prompt technical support I received when the demo wasn't launching properly.

30+ years ago as part of preparations for a teaching career in Biblical Studies I took two years of Greek, a course in textual criticism, and a year of Hebrew. I studied under, among others, John Sailhamer at Biola College and Colin Brown at Fuller Theological Seminary. But the Lord had plans for a different course for my life than the one for which I was preparing. I am now 61, retired due to health issues, and on a fixed income. We are in the process of selling our house and downsizing, and I have a one-time source of funds to make a purchase. I simply HAVE to get any choices right the first time.

Having always had a rather scholarly bent, with what energies I have I want to review and, as necessary, relearn my Greek and Hebrew. I also want to do serious exegetical work in both Testaments in the original languages as a way to profitably use my time. My son-in-law is studying to become a pastor, and I would like to be a positive and broadening influence as he develops. I'd like to help him appreciate the humility and openness needed to adequately approach the richness of original language work.

I am very interested to read any comments from users on: (A) the relative merits Logos 6 - Bibleworks 10 - Accordance 11 for original language work and for user notes.