The English Definition

David Lee

I'm a new user of Accordance and I'm also a relatively new user of Macs.

Sometimes when I'm studying, I want to know why a particular Greek or Hebrew word was translated into a particular English word.

I have been spoiled by the "Look up in Dictionary" context menu that is in many applications (like TextEdit and Safari).

I'm copying into a widget for my Oxford definitions.

Have I missed something that would make this easier?

I thought I should post here before someone pointed out that my feature request was pointless. :)

The NET Notes often comment on the choice of a word in the NET version. Both modules are included in the Core Bundle or the Library levels.

I'm copying into a widget for my Oxford definitions.

Have I missed something that would make this easier?

If you're wanting to look up English words in the OS X Dictionary app, the Services submenu is available in Accordance, so you can highlight the word, then navigate to Accordance > Services > Look Up in Dictionary (this works in most OS X applications).

To streamline, you can assign a keyboard shortcut to Look Up in Dictionary in your Keyboard & Mouse prefpane's Keyboard Shortcuts tab. If you find the Services submenu to be overpopulated, try Peter Maurer's very handy ServiceScrubber.

Of course, if you're looking for a semantic analysis, the best thing to do is to study a lexicon entry carefully (here BDAG and HALOT are often overkill, but they do present the largest amount of data) and see which part of the semantic range of a root or word a particular translator seems to have chosen.

If you're wanting to look up English words in the OS X Dictionary app, the Services submenu is available in Accordance, so you can highlight the word, then navigate to Accordance > Services > Look Up in Dictionary (this works in most OS X applications).