Jump to content


Photo

small windows


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Ron Bailey

Ron Bailey

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reading, UK
  • Interests:Bible teaching and the local church.
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 16 November 2008 - 05:06 AM

I have recently begun to get a warning which says...
Posted Image
Click for full size - Uploaded with plasq's Skitch
This is a new thing. I presume I have changed my setup in some way which now triggers this response. How can I remove it?
I the example above I was doing a word search on the word 'hold-fast'.
thanks
Ron Bailey
The BibleBase

#2 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 8,879 posts
  • Twitter:accordancebible
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 16 November 2008 - 06:52 AM

It is not clear to me what triggered the warning. Where were you entering hold-fast?
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#3 Ron Bailey

Ron Bailey

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reading, UK
  • Interests:Bible teaching and the local church.
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 17 November 2008 - 02:04 PM

It is not clear to me what triggered the warning. Where were you entering hold-fast?

I double left clicked the word 'hold fast' and then right clicked and chose Search For/Key Number.
Ron Bailey
The BibleBase

#4 Joe Weaks

Joe Weaks

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,096 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Odessa, TX
  • Interests:I like things that are Orange, and possibly Blue.
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 17 November 2008 - 02:23 PM

Ah...
Well, then all is clear.
Of course, you realize that the error dialog is simply saying that you need to widen the amplified window so that the column with "YNG" and "My Notes" can fit. You can see this commonly when you add panes.
However, there's certainly a bug in that the error drop down sheet attached to the wrong window.

Secondly, I'm curious, when you amplify to the key number, was the "KJVS 2" window already open? Or did it create a new window.
If it was already open, and that narrow, then this behavior is to be expected. It was too small for all 4 columns.
If it was newly created, then it seems that routine is not savvy enough to recognize that the default amplified window width was not sufficient to include all 4 columns, and did not adjust appropriately.

All said, just widen the window and you're golden.
Joe Weaks
The Macintosh Biblioblog

Sometimes I'm so helpful even I can't stand it.

#5 Ron Bailey

Ron Bailey

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reading, UK
  • Interests:Bible teaching and the local church.
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 18 November 2008 - 10:42 AM

Secondly, I'm curious, when you amplify to the key number, was the "KJVS 2" window already open? Or did it create a new window.
If it was already open, and that narrow, then this behavior is to be expected. It was too small for all 4 columns.
If it was newly created, then it seems that routine is not savvy enough to recognize that the default amplified window width was not sufficient to include all 4 columns, and did not adjust appropriately.

All said, just widen the window and you're golden.

It was 'newly created'. Yes, I can widen the window and then get on with it but the puzzle is that this is a recently acquired 'bug'. I have been using Accordance to do this kind of thing since Version 8 arrived but it has never given me the warning window before. I am sure that previously the routine was 'savvy enough' to adjust appropriately. I am wondering if I have set some parameter elsewhere in the programme that is causing the problem.

thanks for your input.
Ron Bailey
The BibleBase

#6 Joe Weaks

Joe Weaks

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,096 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Odessa, TX
  • Interests:I like things that are Orange, and possibly Blue.
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 18 November 2008 - 10:47 AM

It was 'newly created'. Yes, I can widen the window and then get on with it but the puzzle is that this is a recently acquired 'bug'. I have been using Accordance to do this kind of thing since Version 8 arrived but it has never given me the warning window before. I am sure that previously the routine was 'savvy enough' to adjust appropriately. I am wondering if I have set some parameter elsewhere in the programme that is causing the problem.

thanks for your input.


Well, the easy solution is to get your window wide enough and then save that session so it's set the way you want it. You can leave that recycled window open behind your other quite easily.
I might wonder if what has changed is the default width your amplified window is opening at.

#7 Ron Bailey

Ron Bailey

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reading, UK
  • Interests:Bible teaching and the local church.
  • Accordance Version:9.x

Posted 19 November 2008 - 07:22 AM

Well, the easy solution is to get your window wide enough and then save that session so it's set the way you want it. You can leave that recycled window open behind your other quite easily.
I might wonder if what has changed is the default width your amplified window is opening at.

Yes, I have adopted the work around you mention. Where would I find the 'default width' for my amplified window? Thanks
Ron Bailey
The BibleBase




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users