BHS Upgrade route

Rick Yentzer

I have a general question in regards to the variations of the BHS. I am a layman who is wanting to learn both Hebrew and Greek. I will tackle Hebrew first and have begun looking into the various modules available and what I currently have to assess my needs.

Here is what I have concerning HEBREW:

Texts:

• BHS

Tools:

• NAS Hebrew
  • Hebrew Strongs
  • Hebrew Keys
  • Hebrew Vocabulary
  • Verbs-Hebrew
  • Exhaustive Analysis HB

My SS teacher (original languages professor) has suggested the HALOT or the BDB Lexicon which I understand. But, when it comes to the variations in the BHS I get overwhelmed not knowing which would best suit a first year Hebrew student the best. Should I get upgrade to the BHS-W4, the BHS-GBS, the BHS-W4.syntax etc. Can someone educate this layman the differences and why I would one over the other?

Secondly, perhaps someone at Accordance who has access to my account could help me make a wise economical decision concerning the best path to take considering the the modules and packages I currently have?

You'll certainly want to purchase the BHS-W4 because each word is tagged with morphological information. This enables you to instantly see the parsing information for a word simply by hovering your cursor over the word; Accordance displays the relevant morphological information in the Instant Details box. You can also search based on the morphological information.

The Hebrew text you already own, the BHS, is the same text as the BHS-W4 but without the morphological tagging.