My Initial Impressions

Ross Kimes

This review is coming from a 1st time Accordance user, so anything I say is based solely on iOS experience. Although I will be buying the Mac version in February. I think that it is awesome having so many sources and references in one app. Really excited about being able to sync back and forth with my Mac, iPhone and iPad.

As an iOS developer myself, I did notice some things in the interface that I thought you should think about doing differently. Please don't take this as me complaining, just trying to be constructive. As a 1.0 release it is simply amazing!

The main area I am going to focus on is the text area.

- An option to view the text in a paragraph would be great. I prefer the list view on the iPhone because of the screen size, but on the iPad where there is more screen real estate I think paragraphs would work better.

- I like the scrolling as opposed to pages, but I think there can be some benefit to breaking it up into chapters or something like that (or having an option to do so). This would also go well with the before mentioned paragraphs; if you were only viewing one chapter, you could just have the verse number instead of having to include something like Gen. 11:9 multiple times on every line.

- Another cool thing you could do if separated by paragraphs is take advantage of some nice iOS shortcuts such as having a verse index on the side so you could slide your finger up and down and quickly select verses and have the option enabled to tap the menu bar and quickly scroll to the top of the chapter.

- This may just be because of the versions I have, but I know some translations have headers for sections and if they could be included that would be nice.