Pastors / Scholars - which commentary?

RogueMonk

Hello to you all!

I am looking to purchase an additional commentary set for accordance. I already have the Word Biblical Commentary. I am not a scholar. I am a pastor. I don't want something very basic, nor do I need something very technical. For the other pastors or scholars out there, what accordance commentary set would you recommend to supplement the WBC.

Thanks,

RogueMonk

Hello to you all!

I am looking to purchase an additional commentary set for accordance. I already have the Word Biblical Commentary. I am not a scholar. I am a pastor. I don't want something very basic, nor do I need something very technical. For the other pastors or scholars out there, what accordance commentary set would you recommend to supplement the WBC.

Thanks,

RogueMonk

Hmmm..., as a scholar I'd say NICGT. As a pastor, I'd pick the NIV-AC, for the way it stretches me in my applications of scriptural principles.

You night also consider one of the new Bible background commentaries by Zondervan (ZIBBCOT/NT), as they focus more on culture and customs. They provide really nice cultural context for many of the biblical narratives—and are very much in keeping with the current emphasis on good story-telling from the pulpit.

I've been impressed by the volumes of the NIBC that I've used (currently only NT is available for Accordance but I'm sure OT is out there on the horizon...) for a non-technical but contextually and theologically astute interpretation.

If/when Abingdon's NIB becomes available, I'd recommend that highly.

Hey RogueMonk,