Very Specific Search

jmarkt

I'm a newbie with Accordance, and would like to know if there is a way to do a specific search..."How many times did God instruct the Israelites to "remember" the things He had done for them? Also, how to restrict the search to Old Testament only.

Thanks for any assistance, and please be specific with any steps. It's such a great program with SO MANY options!!! :o

Edited by jmarkt

Hi jmarkt,

The easy bit is the second bit. You can define a range for the OT books and use that range to restrict your search. In the image below you will see just below the KJVS a pulldown showing Range is OT. The range will restrict the search. OT is my defined range defined as Gen-Zech. Normally it does not exist though there is a built range for New Testament. Anyhow if you just click on the pull down where OT is you will see at the bottom Define range ..... Click that and you should be able to see how a range is defined and how to define your own. To get the Range thingo to appear you'll notice on the far right at the same a - and + in circle. Click plus and the you be able to add one of three qualifiers to the search - one of which is range.

And as a newbie myself I have to say this : the doc is very good, the podcasts on searching are excellent. It is more than worth the time to watch the podcasts and play along with them. There are a whole bunch on searching at http://www.accordancebible.com/Podcasts-Index/. Look for the ones under How to Search but also look at the Recommended podcasts too : http://www.accordancebible.com/Podcasts-Recommended. There are search ones under there.

So to the search you want itself. With a range defined you can try various things. I did and I must say I wasn't happy with what I came back with. remember god and israel in various combinations did not yield massively convincing results, though it did prove the range was ok. But the search in the image attached was not utterly without success yielding such things as :